Help create a non-profit eco village nearby, in Oregon, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

324 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    25  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/02/2022

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Welcome to the beautiful Pacific NW of the USA! What a glorious natural environment - from 11,000 foot mountains to lush rain forests, to beautiful rugged coastlines on the west and desert landscapes to the east. We have it all; plus the vibrant city of Portland with approximately 1 million inhabitants including surrounding towns.

    We are forming an EcoVillage that is getting ready to launch soon and we are setting up some of the infrastructure to make that happen. This year we'll be building a stone staircase, outdoor bathing area, a lean-to, putting in septic, geothermal heating source and cutting firewood and tapping Maples for water. This is non a for profit venture at this time.

    Help I would welcome:
    1. Cutting firewood, raking, clearing trails, moving bricks, lumber, etc.
    2. Some construction help to build a deck.
    3. If you are good with a chainsaw, all the better!
    4. And a cook to keep the crews fed.
    5. Someone good at organizing and packing up.

    This workaway opportunity is a mix between rustic, outdoor camping environment, about 45 minutes East of Portland, Oregon and an urban setting. I can provide a tent or hammock and sleeping bag – if you need those and a room or caravan when in town. There is a beautiful 5 x 7 marble table for an outdoor cooking area to make scrumptious meals when in the woods!. I'd like to have a group of around 5 – 10 fellow workawayers to enjoy the camaraderie of being with other travelers. It's a lot more fun when work and play is done as a group – especially when relaxing around the campfire at night, telling tall tales, singing, and solving the world's problems while we all share our diverse cultures.
    Although there is no power, no piped-in water, and just composting toilets, this is paradise in the shade of the trees. We do have rain barrels with water for washing up, a pond to jump in and cool off in, as well as a creek, and potable water is brought in. And we come back into town to restock, shower and regroup. Be satisfied knowing that your contributions will help get this "ecovillage" (which consists of you and me) off the ground and running in the right direction.

    There is great cell phone reception. A solar cell charger is a small but handy item to bring, though we also use the car battery to recharge the phone and have a solar-powered car battery for cell phones or running a tiny fan on hot days. We will take outings into town to restock and visit the library to use the internet, charge our phones and tools and even get a hot shower at the Baptist church. There are also some hot springs about 45 minutes away that we can retreat to for a relaxing break and a hike through some very lush old growth trees.

    Looking forward to sharing my piece of paradise in the foothills of Mt. Hood, with all of you!
    Safe Travels and Blessings from
    FionaRhea

    Our main Liberation is: THIS IS A DRUG, ALCOHOL, Cigarette, and MARIJUANA FREE ZONE!!! And still a TON OF FUN~! Occasionally we'll go into town and have a beer or wine at a restaurant, but none on the property!!! KINDLY respect this policy.

    Please write which tasks you are most attracted to putting your energy into. Looking forward to making new acquaintances - see you soon!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    My household is very multicultural. I speak German and French. I've traveled to 22 countries and love interacting with people from all around the world.

    Interacting with several volunteers makes for a wonderful, interactive, cooperative and FUN time!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    If you can help with these projects please contact me:

    1. Build a deck, put up a gate, build an outdoor shower.
    2., A mason for walkways and an intricate fireplace and fountain, and sitting area as well as designing a hot tub for 25 people with a fireplace in the middle of it!
    3. A Cook to make nutritious meals for all of us!
    4. A dog lover to care for my dog and work with training her. (Sadhana is just over two years old).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Bring your own sleeping bag and tent or let me know if you need to borrow one or want to try hammock camping.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We will occasionally do some outings to local attractions around Portland like a day at the Oregon Country Fair, or Bagby hot springs. The beautiful Columbia River Gorge, the Pittock mansion, the zoo, the coast, or Mt. St. Helens are all popular destinations you can plan in your itinerary that are close by. You'll be expected to chip in for gas and other expenses for any outings we do together.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have 120 acres so there is room for a vehicle in the woods. The road in is rough and one mile long, but doable - especially in the summertime.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have a 65 pound dog that goes wherever I go and recently adopted two kittens. Pets are OK with me and Lets hope they all get along.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 932194641885