Help on a Small Caribbean Farm on Big Corn Island

Country

Nicaragua

351 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/05/2022

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ****Going in to 2015 I will be looking for long term house/farm/animal sitters as I expect to be off the Island. I will be on the Mainland working on another project, probably gone from home more than here.


    I am originally from the States, have been in Nicaragua 6 years. I have a small farm (3 acres) I raise animals and vegetables as well as many tree crops. Gardening here is a formidable task due to the amount of rainfall we get (up to 200 inches a year). I have planted 100 or more trees all food bearing and continue to plant more. I have pigs, chickens, sheep, and dogs.

    I have a small house and an extra bedroom available, my house is a 4 minute walk to the Caribbean and a nice beach. The Island is small, not much to do except chill out and watch the grass grow.

    Had to be away for 6 months and the "Jungle" nearly devoured the place. I am in the process of cleaning it up, repairing fences, planting more trees, working on the house a little, and my biggest project for the coming year is to rebuild the garden, pretty much from scratch.

    Not big on all the buzzwords like Perma, Eco, etc, just growing food in a way people have done for a long while. Farm is not Organic, that may be important to some, not to others. I try my best to be a good steward of the land but sometimes I do use chemicals.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Looking for someone to help out, an extra set of hands for the day to day work that comprises "farm life". No special skills necessary, but a love of gardening would be great. No really hard work just the normal stuff. Lots of weeding, always lots of weeding.

    I am open on length of stay, figure that some travelers may be interested in staying a few weeks while on longer journeys and maybe some others would be interested in coming here longer term.

    The house is small and other than normal day to day cleaning it takes care of itself. I love to cook and am good at it but would welcome someone who can share the cooking duties just to have some variety.

    Work hours for me usually begin early with feeding the animals and trying to get any "hard" work done before it gets too hot. I have the rest of my life so I treat the work more like a marathon than a sprint.

    This a low budget operation to say the least.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Haitian Creole: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Small room with small bed, room has a fan. The house has electricity but no running water (rumor is that it will soon come, not holding my breath). I have a well so water is no problem. No running water means "bucket bathing" and an outhouse toilet.

    The house is kinda "wide open" no interior doors and the walls do not go all the way to the ceiling. The house is a block house, nothing fancy, typical of the local construction. Not much privacy but really I live outside, more time is spent on the porch than in the house.

    The house is open eaved for ventilation and that mean there are bugs and lizard, and pretty much whatever else is determined to get in, this is the Tropics, if you have a problem with lizards or bugs you will not like it here.

    Usually there is something fresh to eat; mango, guava, papaya, pineapple, citrus, coconut, avocado, you name it. Plantain, lots and lots of Plantain. Small but workable kitchen with a fridge and stove.

    My diet leans towards vegetarian (lots of rice and beans) but I do eat meat and I raise animals for meat so if that is problem, be aware. I have no problem working with any kind of diet just want to be clear in advance that some butchering gets done here.

    An Island so plenty of fish if that is your thing, some Lobster, Conch, Shrimp occasionally find their way to the table.

    I do have internet using a 3G "dongle" but it is S-L-O-W.....

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Surrounded by beautiful and usually empty beaches (other than local kids) so if you like to snorkel, swim, lay on the beach than you will love it here. English is the main language here on the Island although Spanish and Miskito (Indian) are becoming more common.

    I live close to the airstrip and if you are a runner that may be of interest, you can use it to run on in the mornings before the planes come, it is only closed for the planes, rest of the day it is a main boulevard for the Island.

    Baseball is King here and during the season games are held on Sunday and it is one of the highlights of every week.

    Really not many organized things happening but there is always something going on.

    Nicaragua is an amazing Country, something for everyone.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours a day would be plenty, I am very flexible.



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 931677796781