Enjoy this historic botanical garden on St.Thomas, Virgin Islands, USA

Country

Islas Vírgenes Americanas

actualizado  

248 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I will tell you a few quick things and then go into detail... We went through 2 major hurricanes in 2017 & another hurricane in Sept 2019 & the 2 acre Botanical garden and plant nursery needs clean up, plants re-potted& beautifying.
    1) My main needs are: gardening, animal care (Kitties), painting and some Carpentry (new shutters & fence repair)
    2) It is a great workaway location if you like cats😻
    3) The minimum age to workaway on my property is 27 yrs old please.
    4) no tobacco smokers.Please
    5) you will be expected to keep your room/ cottage clean.
    6) min stay 1week

    Island life here is about conservation, both water & products.

    This Garden Estate & is at 1200 feet, on a mountain with great views...very peaceful residential area! This is a "room" exchange workaway, Meals are not always included,, for several reasons. However I share basics, spices, & my kitchen and I’m willing to change this arrangement depending on each situation. Let’s chat!

    Property:
    It was designed in the 1950's as a garden estate above the main town.(10min by car, 40 min walking) There are path ways to amazing vistas.

    Your Accommodations:
    I have a 2 bedroom cottage W/ a small bathroom & kitchenette. 1 full size bed and 1twin bed. 2people maximum.

    Magens Beach is the closest. I am NOT on a bus route, but hitch hiking and taxi's are an option.

    I have been hosting since 2015. I value your willingness to communicate your needs and ideas to me.
    I will ask for ID and emergency contact numbers prior to your arrival. Also I advise that you have health insurance & consider Air ambulance medical insurance.

    Thank you for your time! Please check for latest travel restrictions.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda informática / Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living in the islands is a unique life-style; it's about electric and water conservation and cutting back on excess in your life. The local people are diversified and they are from all over the Caribbean

    I love sharing what I know about local plants & doing things naturally.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I have a few projects that could do with some electric, plumbing or carpentry skills as well as gardening.

    Plant nursery: re-potting plants, propagating baby plants.

    Projects: outdoor lighting needs installed & wood steps need replaced. I have construction tools.

    Your ideas are welcome! Let’s talk on the phone!

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Housing: Unique stone cottage with 2 bedrooms, 1/2 bathroom, small kitchen. The beds are VERY comfy!

    My apt: I am figuring out social distancing for our safety. Normally I share the kitchen, & the shower with you! There are 10 cats that live on property.
    WIFI: Yes , not currently at your cottage but it on the property.
    Cellphone- Att & Sprint are best

    Length of Stay:
    prefer 1- 2 weeks which is the longest I will commit prior to meeting you. Will consider longer once we are all adjusted.

    Meals: cooking in your kitchen or mine! I provide tea, spices & basic condiments and I’m open to other cooking options. ; Grocery costs are generally 15-20% higher.
    I do not provide use of my car. We drive on the left and my insurance does not cover you.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I recommend you plan financially for taxis; $10pp each way is average.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    max 15 hour/week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 916482733979