Family, home and local community near Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

41 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/07/2021

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Greetings! Our large patchwork family of five is desperately seeking help from April-Oct of 2021. Anything from help at our little town library which is run by one of us, to gardening, beekeeping, building, general land maintenance, and so much more! there are three children here ages 7,12,15 and they would love to have other kids around so families are very much welcome. We also have lots of fun things for kids like a zip line, trampoline, small pool, bikes, and lots and lots of woods to play in.

    Life has been much quieter up here since covid, but we try to keep ourselves busy. We go on lots of hikes in our woods and the surrounding mountains, watch movies on the projector down at the library from time to time, and play lots of board games (Catan being an eternal favorite). We have plenty of cookouts in the warmer months, we make traditional Danish bread on a stick over the fire, and everybody sits around eating and telling stories and laughing a lot. There's always far too much gardening and subsequent canning/freezing to be done (hopefully you can help with that) and this year we will have a few new projects added to the list.

    Oh, and just so you know we also have two dogs (sometimes three if one of the neighbor's dogs is visiting), three cats, a bunch of chickens, a few turkeys, a snail, and a fish.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Gardening, bees, cider making, baking, building, tech help and so much more!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Builders, creatives, gardeners, board game enthusiasts, beekeepers, tech gurus, musicians, fellow queer folk, and kind, open-minded hardworking souls are all welcome.

    We have a big garden that always needs tending to, and lots of fun new projects starting this year like bees, a horse field, a barn, and possibly even a small cob workshop. We are a big family that tends to be on the property a lot more do to covid these days. We are keen to start building a small community on our little mountain, and we have lots of plans for the property in the future.

    We ask an absolute maximum of 25 hours a week, and there will most likely be times when you are working on a project by yourself and could arrange your hours how you'd like I.E. choose to work slightly longer days for an extra day off.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As far as lodging goes we have tents for you to stay in with an air mattress or sleeping pad, and we can run an extension cord from the house if you'd like power so you could charge your electronics, use a fan, ect. If for whatever reason the weather is really not accommodating, you'd obviously be welcome to sleep inside on the couch or on an air mattress. You'd of course be welcome to come in and use the shower, bathroom, kitchen, and wifi, anytime, just be aware that we are not morning people, and we do ask kindly that people try to be on the quiet side when in the house until around 11:00 AM, usually everybody is up and moving by then.

    Food wise, we will provide you with staples for simple meals, and you would of course be able to harvest whatever you'd like from the gardens, and eggs from the turkeys and chickens as well.

    We plan to set up a screen tent, with some chairs, a table, a mini fridge, and a grill for you to use at your convenience.

    Please just be aware that we are a vegan/pescetarian household and we do ask that you don't cook meat inside of the house (unless it's fish), but if you feel like meat is a part of your healthy diet we want to be respectful of that, so you of course would be welcome to grill it outside.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As far as our little towns goes, there's not a whole lot going on. Life is definitely slow and peaceful. There's a bunch of rivers to swim in, and beautiful mountains to climb. Lots of farmland, kind and helpful neighbors, a church, and Lise's little library of course.

    We are 15 minutes outside of Putney, which is a very charming little town with those old classic New England-style homes. It has a few small businesses including my family's thrift store, a very chic bookstore, a co-op, a library, an orchard, a yoga studio, Hidden Springs Maple (you can get maple ice cream there in the summer), a pub, a very fancy restaurant with an ever-changing seasonal menu, and a new vegan/GF cafe that sells locally crafted herbal and mushroom elixirs.

    We are also only 30 minutes outside of Brattleboro, which is a very artistic classic Vermont town with coffee shops, thrift stores, artisan collectives, bakeries, lots of restaurants (I highly recommend trying Yalla). We have one good bar, a big co-op, bookstores, headshops, an art museum, antique stores, bike shops, a shoe store, record shops, Sam's outfitters, and an old movie theater. They also (pre-covid) had really great shows at the stone church on Maine street, which in my personal opinion is the town's best venue. My partner and I actually met each other at a Queer dance party there.

    We currently don't have an extra vehicle on hand, but you'd be welcome to hitch a ride with any of us when we go into town (which is usually a few times a week) and I could give you a ride once a week to do errands or just sightsee. There also plenty of bikes to borrow if you're just looking to cruise around locally, and I'd be happy to plan a day trip to go up to Burlington to sightsee up North as well.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a big dining table to sit at, hammocks in the yard, and cozy chairs and couches upstairs to do your work on. You'd also be welcome to head down to the library, it's literally a two-minute drive down the road and most of that is just our driveway.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Van's and smaller campers yes, though be warned we are the second to last house on a very steep hill and you will most likely have a hard time getting anything big up here if it's mud season.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    As long as they get along with our animals and are safe with small children that should be fine.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 915813129149