Organic farm in bush setting, growing exotic tropical fruits and new start-up in Koah, Australia

Country

Australia

24 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/07/2019

  • Medallas

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My father who is 85 grows organic exotic tropical fruits and has people to stay for health reasons from time to time on his farm of about 70 acres. I am next door to him on around 60 acres.We are located in a bush setting about 45 mins from Cairns with river access for swimming. He needs some help with the gardening, mulching, grass cutting and tree lopping. I need help with land clearing, rubbish collection, repairs to a stone and timber house such as installation of windows, shower solar etc to become habitable. There are hills to climb, walking tracks, some old bikes to ride and visits to Cairns and the markets on Fridays and Saturdays.

    Be aware that as this is the bush there are flying insects, although not many particularly in the cooler months. There are plenty of kangaroos but they hop away and cockatoos that atta k the fruit trees when the fruit is still green (not ripe). There are sometimes snakes although I have only seen non venomous types, the python and the tree snake. Generally snakes are timid and keep away. If you are concerned best to bring a pair of rubber boots to wear.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You gain experience about growing oprganoc food and a start-up farm, learning about the best way to set up and run a farm. The land is in a bush setting and requires the addition of fertilisers to build it up. What is the best organic method. Also my father is a raw foodist and you can also discuss with him his views on food and health. Whilst not a vegan, he eats a largely vegan diet. As you may have guessed no chemicals are used.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Skills required - strong athletic and energetic. Initially the work will involve gardening and clearing. Once that has been finished building skills will be required such as carpentry and ability to fix the stone and timber house. Some professionals will be used such as plumbing and solar electrician but all other skills required. These include carpentry, tiling , installing hessian with staple gun as part of ceiling, installing sarking in roof, fixing drains, cleaning out water tank.. Other work includes looking at fencing to see what is required to bring in animals such as chickens, geese and goats. Essentially all skills required to set up a new farm including cropping. At present I am considering growing cocoa but need to do some further research. Not being a farmer myself I am open to suggestions and recommendations

    French or German travellers preferred to assist me with learning your language (German) or improving my French.

    It is best that there are at least 2 friends or a couple as there is not a lot to do at night. Having your own transport would also be useful as it allows you to be independent and explore other areas nearby.

    No smoking within area of buildings. We don’t drink, smoke or take drugs so expect that you won’t also.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation will be in studio rooms with 2 single beds in each. There are showers and toilets nearby. There is also a large separate building with the kitchen, dining and lounge room. As we eat mainly raw food and are vegetarian there are no cooking facilities in this building although they may be able to be available in the stone and timber house which is not far away.

    We expect that living/bedroom areas and bathrooms are kept clean and tidy each day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As it gets hot later in the day it is best to start work around 7am for 4-5 hours a day, Sunday to Thursday (5 days). On Fridays we go to Cairns to the markets so you can come for the ride and come back later in the morning or stay overnight and come back on Saturday morning. My father goes early on Friday and Saturday mornings as he has Program on a radio station on both mornings. He goes back to the farm each day. There is also a bus to Cairns and return but it is about 3kms from the property.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 899941376967