Come and help on this patch of paradise in the mountains near Benfeita, Portugal

Country

Portugal

543 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/11/2020

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I'd be glad of some good help on the land and buildings here where l'm reclaiming olive terraces, vegetable gardens, orchards, riverside forest garden......and restoring original stone buildings
    Working with this land not tended for 25 years, I feel the freedom and joy of a child, playing in the garden. Here is where l can express my deep love and gratitude to our Mother Earhth. Come and share the pleasure.
    For you there's the opportunity to learn lots about sustainable living thru the experience of being here helping me.
    I am a painter, dancer, singer, wild food forager..., and here is perfect to share this, teaching, performing, exhibiting. So if you feel inspired to help prepare this place to function and shine, we need skillful, seriously helpful, kind, physically strong people. ln return you'll share this magic place and my passion and knowledge of living with the Earth,

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The local villagers are warm hearted welcoming folk and my friends, so you can meet them and enjoy and learn from their agricultural, cultural, language roots, much of which they still live and honor. I love to practice languages, and you can learn from the land through work experience and from skills that I offer - earth care, sustainable living, growing food organically, wild food, preserving, clay render, natural paint.....

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Projects I'm particularly grateful for skilled help with particularly from March 22 are

    Felling burnt mostly olive trees, cutting, carrying, stacking for firewood
    Carpentry for shelving etc
    Dry stone retaining wall and river wall repair
    Restoring small dry stone buildings
    Clay pointing/rendering inside house walls
    Protective fencing for fruit trees and vegetable garden
    Also
    Help in organic gardens
    Clearing ground of brambles

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Portuguese: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    In the main house, your own room, in a simple little stone house, with water and solar electricity, bell tent, tipi or your own tent.
    Sustainable flush toilets, solar hot water shower and washing facilities.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Tho monoculture eucalyptus and pine plantations, a quick cash crop, ugly and dangerous, dominate, there remain many wonderful sights and the valleys and rivers hold their lush beauty and tranquility. Enjoy old stone walkways link rivers, waterfalls, villages... walking from here, and in just 10 minutes, the village of Benfeita with very friendly local people, a little shop, post office and cafe. Spring thru autumn the outdoor cafe is open in the square and a river beach for bathing. There are other interesting friendly folk living similarly in the area forming a spontaneous mostly off grid creative community of artists, craftspeople, healers, different therapists, people skilled and learning many aspects of sustainable living, a Transition group, out of school group, local market, musical events.....an awesome bunch of brave strong pioneers! We've just qualified as an 'Eco Fregesia', eco local region.
    Food here is vegetarian, mostly organic, home grown, local, wild and simply delicious.
    Please only bring organic washing, hair, teeth and skin products as it all goes into the earth and river.
    I ask you please not to smoke here. The mountain air is fresh and clean. Also if you have a dependence on drugs or alcohol let this be an opportunity not to consume them while you're here, rather let your engagement with nature be your natural healthy intoxicant.
    Please bring suitable work clothes, boots and gloves
    2 dear cats, 3 dear hens and 2 dear sheep also live here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 895783958153