Help us at our vegan animal sanctuary in Suchan, Slovakia

  • Eslovaquia
  • 337 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 1 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    We accept last minute volunteers, lomg terms, short terms, minimum stay is 10days though. We are also looking for long-term volunteers!

    Since we had our baby in june 2022, we need volunteers more than ever to help us take care of our nonhuman babies. 🐑🐇🐐🐕🐔

    Looking for an adventure? In summer 2024 we would like to move, well, we are not sure where to yet. But we are considering moving abroad and selling our properties in Slovakia (that you will read about in the description, I am not going to change it yet, in case we change our minds and decide to stay). Anyways, we are going to need many helpers to help us travel and move to a new place with all our animals. I imagine it as a few days long journey, kind of nomadic, with many stops for the animals...we are thinking about moving to France or Italy. This decision is sad for us and we are thinking of abandoning our home and dreams because of the political situation in our beautiful home country that has been kidnapped by our current government. We are afraid and worried about the future in Slovakia.

    We still need help over the winter in the sanctuary im Sucháň!

    Original description:
    We are a vegan couple from Slovakia that met in the main town (Bratislava) and shortly after decided to leave it together and find a home in the beautiful nature of middle Slovakia. We found amazing old secluded settlement in the woods and knew it's the perfect home for us. It will take us few years to finish the reconstructions and to move there. We also plan to build a retreat centre there. For the time we'll be reconstructing we bought a nice countryside house in the village Sucháň, were we currently live and somehow started a vegan rescue farm. :) Ooops. Currently we have 4 male goats, 2 female goats, 3 rams, two sheep, 5 rabbits, 3 roosters and two dogs.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We promise a lot of love from our animals, for us they are the best therapists. :) We'll teach you how to make a lot of delicious vegan dishes, and help you reconnect with the nature and yourself. We own a lot of art supplies which we'll also gladly share with you. We often recycle things and give them a new life, you'll learn to create lot of things yourself at home, which saves nature and money. :) And something tells me after u'll be leaving us, u can start a fence building business, as we need to make new fences all the time because of our animals... <3

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Helpers needed!

    Currently we need help with following projects:
    • ANIMAL CARE - daily animal routine takes around 8hours a day for 1 person, so it's great when we have more people helping with it :)
    Animal care includes
    ▪︎cleaning the stables daily
    ▪︎cleaning the dry goats and sheep's enclosure few times a day
    ▪︎cleaning the rabbits cages twice a day
    ▪︎once a week cleaning the roosters house
    ▪︎feeding all the animals twice a day
    ▪︎providing a clean water and hay for the animals throughout the day
    ▪︎playing with the animals
    ▪︎ helping with animals that need a special treatment, hooves trimming, wool shearing - don't worry, unless you are a pro zootechnitian, you'd be helping to hold the animals or distract them only :)
    ▪︎giving them a lot of love and while doing so, you can also brush their furry coats :)
    ▪︎and probably much more that I forgot.. oh, yes, watching the animals which aren't supposed to meet or stay alone together. Like our rooster Coco who likes to attack rabbits and Charlie (dog) for fun, but sometimes it may lead to fight. Coco is good with the people and often hangouts with us also indoors, it's just he needs to show the other animals he is the boss here. :)

    • we are building a greenhouse from recycled windows, the roof is finished but there is lot more work on it - on going project for a year! now, still not done as we had other priorities

    • protecting plants and 🌳trees from the animals 🙈

    • building a water well

    • renovation works on the secluded settlement

    Me and David are working from home, but we still need a lot of time for our money earning jobs, so we can provide for everyone and everything. That's why we really value highly independent people and fast learners!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Slovak: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Swedish: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    1. We offer you our guest room which has it's own toilet and separate entrance. The guestroom doesn't have a shower, but you can use the shower in our bathroom anytime.

    2. Tiny summer guest house - preferably only usable during the warmer months as it isn't insulated enough for staying warm enough during the coldest winter nights, although there is a wood owen. There's also a shower and a sink with a hot water as well. Toilet isn't built yet, we are thinking about adding a composting toilet inside or dry toilet outside next to the guest house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    ■To be willing to stay on a VEGAN DIET IS A MUST. Please, out of respect for our rescued animals and our work, don't bring any animal products here. (Yep, it happened before.)
    ■You can borrow bicycles anytime
    ■ We recommend visiting historical town of Banská Štiavnica which is only 45 minutes driving from our place, we will help you plan a trip there if you'd like. It's considered to be the most beautiful town in Slovakia.
    ■You can borrow the car when we don't need it.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    If you can work from home, good for you! We are working from home or our favourite garden office too! You'll have your own wifi at your room.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You can be parking in front of our house, there's also a huge parking lot which belongs to the town hall and it's possible to use it if you are large. One family that came on a truck with additional trailer which made together 15m long house on wheels parked there for 3 weeks once. If you have smaller van you can decide where to stay, you can also park at the top of our garden and enjoy privacy and very dark nights.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you have a dog it has to be trainable not to chase and hunt our animals. We managed to train our dogs ourselves and we can provide a dog training guidance and advice. Cats are more problematic as we don't have any and our dogs only know the wild ones or neighbour's cats that come to provoke them.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 883315989667

Comentarios (21)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.7)

Come and help us out in Bratislava, Slovakia
Help with cleaning and small renovations in my house situated in one of the old parts of Bratislava, Slovakia