Help us build our place to a nice lodge in Tiszaigar, Hungary

Country

Hungría

97 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Born and bred in Australia, my family is grown up and I've flown the coop instead and recently bought a property in Hungary to convert into a Lodge/Inn/Guest Accommodation.
    I work online to try and supplement income, write a regular blog about living in Hungary, am an avid traveler and desire to set up my 1/2 acre property to become a great little Inn/Lodge with 8 guest beds and a stand alone cottage that can take up to 4 guests.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As the project is growing, tasks vary yearly. 2021 to 2025 will involve completion of a hydroponics system to grow a range of vegetables. Neighbours will show us how to cook local dishes that we will then consume. Lake Tisza district is a paradise for over 200 bird species, bike riders and canoe enthusiasts. Tisza is home to the largest fresh water aquarium in Europe, with boat rides and other activities... All up, life in a sustenance living village of 900 people is a step back in time, something to remember for life.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Do you have a few free weeks to experience a very different workaway adventure?

    I am creating a unique guest experience for our local area and part your job from 2021 will include testing our new recipes and meals, going on test trips to make sure timing and sight seeing fits our schedule and at times, being a "guest" to smooth out newly installed equipment/ facilities, plus other tasks on the half acre/2,000 sq mtr property.

    The Deal is This...

    I supply your food and your own bed room for the period of time with me...

    You supply willing hands (complete with body and mind) for the time agreed to stay.

    I will meet you at the local train station and take you back upon completion of agreed time... if necessary...
    and will pay your return train fares from Budapest to my place if you complete a full month of help.

    Basic infrastructure is now in place including flower and veggie gardens and permaculture no dig straw gardens are going well. Big new additions like pool, spa, sauna, pool decking and the small hydroponic system are all on the agenda for 2021 and into the future.

    The original cottage celebrated it's centenary in 2019, so we had a year long recognition.

    We have converted and renovated an old animal shed into a functioning tool shed and are finalizing the sauna room, sun deck, BBQ deck, out door toilet and change areas, some to be functional 2021 and beyond.

    The cellar is almost complete to hold regular medieval feasts! It is decked it out with power, new floor, lights, vent and it just needs finishing work like completing the stairs and hand rails, a final clean up and furniture installed.

    Work on the old summer kitchen cottage conversion is progressing with the mezzanine floor completed, ready for volunteer testing 2021 as soon as all systems go.

    In the garden area, we'll be growing 4 types of tomatoes, potatoes, water and rock melons, pumpkin, beetroot, onions, kohlrabi and cucumbers in our newly created straw, no dig, permaculture garden beds.

    We are moving a few fences, installing and building decks around temporary spa and pool and creating new gardens, planting lots of new trees and creating a visually attractive space for both volunteer guests and passers by!

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    This is an overview of what GUESTS will come to experience in their week long, fully inclusive stay when the project eventually is completed...

    Guests will experience a week long Hungarian Adventure, Tisza style, with all meals, accommodation, outings, natural therapy spa pools, canoeing, boating, drinks etc included in the one up front cost.

    Locals will show guests how to cook and preserve the abundance of fruit and vegetables that grow in the area as well, and we'll be preserving, cooking and/or making jams, jellies or syrups from our own home grown seasonal tomatoes, plums, apples, cherries, elderberries and peaches, along with the above activities.

    Guests will be able to take some of their own handiwork home with them...making their Tisza Lakes experience stretch that little bit longer.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    All up, your volunteering expertise will give you a hands on opportunity to partake in a little corner of a very beautiful area in North Eastern Hungary, close to the Romanian and Slovakian borders.

    I will cook your meals daily, (unless you want to cook your own meals) do your washing and supply a nice clean bed for you.

    But due to testing new meals and recipes, I'll need someone to test recipes out on, so we'll work it out as we go!

    Some of the Work expected to be carried out by all...

    Mowing, helping out in new garden areas, planting flowers, weeding, maintaining and watering gardens.

    Pruning trees in season.

    Having heaps of fun!

    Partaking of an odd beer or so after work finishes...the little shop that sells everything is 150 feet up the road!

    You can also help, in season, with my own private home made preserves.

    This is one of the most exciting, fulfilling and visually satisfying experiences I know of. The ruby reds of the plums as they are cooked, the deep purple of Elderberry juice, bright red bottled tomatoes, and creamy colour of cooked peaches...

    Cherry blossoms...1-10 April,
    Cherry eating ...end May,
    Plums from June to August,
    Tomatoes from May to October,
    Peaches September,
    Apples Late July to December,
    Crab apples Late July to September,
    Elderberry flowers to make syrup...April/May,
    Elderberries...August/September/October

    A visual extravaganza for sure that some experience, but so many unfortunately never ever know of.

    You will enjoy feeling satisfied that you really have accomplished something worthwhile and you'll sleep really well at night!

    In 2021 I'm experimenting with sun drying tomatoes and various fruits with a new contraption being set up..

    Basically in the first half of the year 2021, we'll need a lot of polish and clean up jobs to make the place sparkle and clean for official opening for past Workaway Volunteers. The 100 year Centenary celebrations will continue into 2021, due to the virus and my own family tragedy last year, setting back centenary celebrations.

    So, I am hoping this Workaway Cultural experience appeals to you and really look forwards to having you come and volunteer here for as long as you can.

    Thanks,
    Mary.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    French appeals to me...

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is solid, so a private bed room is available.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As far as a cultural experience goes...I can only offer the experience of
    an Aussie Granny in Hungary :)

    There is a larger village, Tiszafured which is 8 klm away by bus, situated on Lake Tisza, with cycling, boating, bush walking, fishing etc.

    Tiszafured, being a natural therapy spa town, has spa baths, a good train to Budapest every few hours, with frequent bus services from Tiszaigar (my village) to Tiszafured.

    Tiszaigar is a village of approx 960 people, has basic shops, Doctor, Post Office and Chemist. Tiszafured, a larger town, has 4 big supermarkets, Tesco, Penny, Lidl and Spar, builders co-op shops, PO, ATM'c, Banks, Solicitors, Doctors etc.

    I would like to offer anyone helping get the property in ship-shape order for guests, which has been set back a couple of years, a complimentary stay at the lodge when it's ready for it's higher end guests. The offer of a day as a Guest, for every week of volunteering here...but obviously, that is in the future and I can't deliver that now, but would love to give that if all goes to plan.

    The plan is to officially fully open the cottage, ammenities and gardens in 2025 which will be 5 years after the 100 year jubilee of the original Homestead building, plus a year, as no one knows when the house was officially completed. Records were destroyed by the communists in the occupation of Hungary.

    Building began in 1919 after WW1 and was completed in ?...

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I upgraded last year, to 150GB a month, expecting my son to come, but he passed away before he could come over. There is plenty of space to sit and have quiet, in the property here. Plus, the mobile pocket wifi is great if they want to go down the end of the paddock, or across to the big deck, to use their computers.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have half an acre, all fully fenced, off street parking a plenty.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    A small to medium dog, as long as it is taken in each night after 9pm, so as not to disturb the neighbours by barking at night.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    max 5 hours, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (5.0)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 876516814256