Help with English teaching at a public school in Cartagena, Colombia

Country

Colombia

26 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 15 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello Workawayers.

    I am the principal at a public school in Cartagena Colombia. In our school we firmly believe that education is a powerful transformational tool. We offer education for children and teenagers.

    My family consists of two adults. However my son is currently studying in Toronto Canada. My home is located in a good neighborhood, close to my school and the beach. I am a sociable, clean and organized person, I enjoy reading, watching movies and currently my main objective is to learn English and promote English learning in my school.

    I have an intermediate English level, soI ask you to please communicate with me in English at all times. If you are interested in learning and/or improving your Spanish communicational skills, this is a wonderful opportunity, since you will be interacting with native students and teachers most of the time.

    In regards to my home rules, on normal weekdays you will have a 10.00 PM curfew, and on weekends you will have an 11:30 Pm curfew. Nevertheless, on weekends you can stay out later occasionally if you wish.

    On the other hand, I already got the COVID vaccine. I expect workawayers coming to my place to have had their
    Covid vaccination and negative PCR test.

    In regards to my school needs, we need a workawayer that can stay for at least four months with possibility of extension, so that the educational purposes at school can be achieved.

    I can host only one workawayer at a time, whether if it is male or female.

    Talk to you soon! We would be happy to meet you .

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cartagena de Indias is a beautiful historic city, with lots of interesting and attractive sites. You can visit different places around the city,like the old town (an old city surrounded by city walls from the hispanic colony 500 years ago), see historic monuments, visit the Rosario Island with white sand and beautil sea with different shades of blue, the aquarium and aviary, among other attractions, that make this city a unique place in the world. Apart from that, people from Cartagena are welcoming with tourists, so you have the chance of memorable experiences in this fantastic place. You can also explore other near cities like Barranquilla and Santa Marta, and benefit from a cultural exchange, besides learning Spanish.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main activity is as an English language teaching volunteer. You are expected to teach students from different levels for up to 4 hours a day and 2-3 hours on Saturday. You might as well be assigned as a teaching assistant some days of the week.
    Your main task will be to join students in classes, from Monday to Saturday to help them advance in their English learning process and enhance their confidence when using the language. We expect you to be an enthusiastic teacher who thrives to motivate pupils so that they enjoy their learning process. The minimum duration of your stay will be 4 month, but we can be flexible if you wish to stay longer.

    While helping students become proficient in the English language, you will have a great opportunity to learn Spanish with our teachers, members of our community and me .
    If you wish and have additonal time, you could also lead cultural activities for the school community and co-lead social projects with children from underprivileged areas.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I offer a private and furnished bedroom which will be a space only for your personal use (see photos). But the rest of the house is a shared space, including the electric appliances such as the washing machine, the refrigerator and the kitchen (with useful items and cutlery). You can use the kitchen to prepare your own meals, or you can buy take out food. You will be given a weekly allowance to cover your meal expenses. You will also have access to internet connection. Besides all that, I will pick you up from the airport.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I am not a smoker and do not drink alcohol in the house. Therefore, I will only accept a non-smoker and someone who will not drink alcohol, or consume any types of drugs or marihuana while inside the property.

    Other than that, I live outside city. However, distances are short. Downtown is only 20 minutes from my place. There you can enjoy an astonishing view of the walls, monuments, and local cafés, restaurants, movie theaters , museums, and all the attractions that the old city has to offer for local and tourists, or go to the beach.

    Our city has a tropical weather, so make sure to pack light clothes, because it gets hot in the day, but it's windy at night.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 872835241588