Help in garden and village beautification in a small rural hamlet in the Poitou-Charentes region of France

Country

Francia

actualizado   Última hora

70 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    13  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    (the workaway position is not available from 21 August to 3 September - 2022)

    We live in a small rural hamlet in the Poitou-Charentes region of France. The 20 or so houses are inhabited by a fantastic mixture of characterful locals and homespun and foreign holidays homeowners.

    The elderly community used to host a renowned village festival and regularly won village in bloom competitions. They even renovated an old house to use as a village meeting hall (and store for the festival equipment).

    I would like to host volunteers to help repair/restore the village house with painting etc and to keep the communal areas of the village tidy and free from weeds.

    This year, I also need assistance with maintaining my garden and minor painting tasks.

    There will be plenty of opportunities to chat to locals while improving your French (you need to be outgoing to connect with them as they will not find you :-)). I am a TEFL-qualified teacher of English and love teaching, so if you need a refresher, I am more than happy to help out.

    The Gartempe River is a short distance away (less than 4km) and the area is fantastic for on and off-road cycling or walking. Roman history is abundant and the World War 2 memorial of Oradour sur Glane is 35 minutes by car. A train stops at nearby Lathus station (4km) for trips further afield to Poitiers or Limoges. I have one bike for your use and can borrow more.

    I can host couples or two singles who don't mind interconnecting rooms that share an en-suite bathroom.

    I have an EU Covid vaccine passport after receiving 3 X Pfizer jabs (end of May).

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ability to interact with the village community and practise French with genuine and friendly locals. Practise your English while staying with your English teacher host. Relax in total tranquility and gaze at the clear and beautiful night sky. Listen to nightingales, watch owls drift silently in front of you, and breathe fresh air. Our village is a veritable haven and a great place to recharge.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help to cut the grass, plant flowers/vegetables, paint shutters etc.

    I am, hopefully, recovering from cancer but am still on tablet for chemotherapy. Any Workaways this year need to be self motivated. Taking the dog for a longer walk 2 or 3 times per week would be very helpful.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am supposed to be learning French, so one hour a day of an English/French exchange would work. Also German or Polish would be useful

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Twin or double room with ensuite bathroom. Vegetarian food provided - shared cooking duties though!. English TV connection and large collection of DVDs. Broadband (but not fast) internet. Smoking not encouraged but OK outside (as long as you ensure that you clean up the butts regularly :-)).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The area is fantastic for cycling and walking. An extremely well funded and equipped state run outdoor activities centre is only 4km walk away on the Gartempe River. Canoeing, climbing, potholing, horse riding and sailing courses are just a few of the activities offered.

    Lathus town (a short 4km cycle away) has shops and banks and a train station to either Limoges or Poitiers. Le Dorat is the next stop on the train line or is a longer cycle journey away. It's a lively town with bar, market, and a cinema which regularly offers French and original language films.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I will have an internet connection, but it is a rural connection and, although the line is reliable, it is not fast.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have plenty of hard standing for campers.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    There is an 800m2 enclosed garden with plenty of walks for dogs. There are cats next door, so if your dog wants to roam alone then it might not be suitable. No German shepherd or huskies/ blue eyed dogs: my dog was attacked by both when young and has a long memory 😢 Ewa, my mixed breed 'doodle' will be there with me this year.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.7)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 872447689245