Help at our animal rescue and shelter in paradise Tofino, Canada

Country

Canadá

219 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a non profit animal rescue shelter based near Tofino, BC, Canada. We primarily work with dogs and cats but will help any animal in need. We have been operating since 2011 and serve rural and remote communities in our beautiful region. Our accommodations are basic and one may share a room with dogs and cats needing cuddles. Fortunately we are within walking distance of a great surf beach and National Park.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a compassionate group of vegan volunteers who like to have fun. We can arrange surf boards to be loaned.

    As for what you could learn? Depending on what is going on at the shelter at the time of your stay:
    - Building and landscaping skills.
    - Animal handling, care and rescue skills.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Currently, we are looking for one or two (as good friends or a couple) people to stay on site of our animal shelter from Friday to including Monday from 5pm until 9am. Your task would be to not leave the property during that time and communicate with the team if there are any complications arising with our shelter animals. Pretty much spend your evening doing what you like to do (in a quiet way) besides of leaving. In return, we offer free accommodation but no food.

    If you feel you would like to be more involved, we always need help with animal care - feeding, walking, cuddling and medical care if a vet comes our way. Saying that cleaning is part of animal care too - kennels, carriers, food bowls, litter boxes etc.

    If no animals are around we have several building projects that could use some extra hands and skills: shelf building, decks, storage shed, etc.

    Our property is still in development so there are endless landscaping jobs to do at this point. Also, we have exterior, white, metal sided walls that could use some art - anyone available to paint a mural?

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a few options.

    #1: We have an 11-foot trailer with a little kitchen, microwave, oven and compostable toilet. With a comfy double bed and a cute little seating area with a table in it.

    #2: We also have 1 room that has two twin beds and a desk. An outdoor kitchen with a roof equipped with a 3-burner stove top, a fridge and a little BBQ is just next to the room. As a living room area, we have a staff room with a sofa, table and chairs, and storage space right next to the kitchen.

    We have a hot outdoor shower. However, that shower is in a public space and should only be used after hours of shelter operations (after 5pm and before 8am). Until the general compost toilet is up and running we have a rented and professionally cleaned port-a-potty toilet on site. It is a short walk from the rooms/trailer to the shower and the toilet.

    As for food, our site is 100% vegan, no exceptions. We rescue animals, we don't eat them or support industries that directly exploit them for their milk, meat, skin, etc. Some meals might be shared but you will have to arrange for your own groceries and meals.

    As an aside, we do expect our guests to keep our facility safe for wild animals too - no food or garbage left out, etc. wolves, bears and cougars are our neighbours.

    Our shelter is a non-smoking facility!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are located at Long Beach. 18 km from Tofino and approx. 22 km from Ucluelet. During your free time you may want to check out Long Beach (to surf or take a long walk), Pacific Rim National Park (hike and explore beautiful forests, beaches, etc.) Tofino and/or Ucluelet (cute towns), or any of the other amazing places and activities that millions of people come here to enjoy.

    Having your own set of wheels will definitely allow you to explore the beautiful Pacific Rim area best. We strongly recommend to join us only if you have your own car! We ran into issues with past work-away helpers - they felt a little stranded. We will not offer transportation into town unless it works with our schedules and most of the time it will only be a one-direction ride! Be prepared to spend money on taxi services as there is no public bus system all the way out to Long Beach.

    Please note, that we are a running operation with tight schedules and a million things to do. We are not a family stay and there will be times when we have very little time and energy left to interact a lot. So please do not expect us to entertain you. We are looking for mature, self-sufficient, caring, and respectful people who are able to follow instructions 100%!

    If you enjoy places with just very few humans but quite a few animals and the only things happening are animal rescue and shelter operation related we would be delighted to hear from you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a fiber optic connection...

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    They would have to spayed or neutered with up to date shots, non-vocal and able to get along with other animals...

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Friday to Monday 5pm to 9am

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 871648588294