Beginnings of a homestead in the Kootenays, Canada

Country

Canadá

7 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have 16.3 acres, mostly forested, partial wetlands, with a creek on the property. There is a soothing, cool wildness to the land. I'm creating a space where people can connect with other humans, and nature. A space to learn, heal, and love. It will start as a small homestead, and ideally develop into a small community!

    I spent many years volunteering with various communities around the globe! After spending years searching for a place to set some roots, I've rooted here, in the central Kootenays. This area is wild and powerful.

    I have experience with plant medicines, fasting, meditation and yoga. While there are plenty of tasks to be done, I practice bringing awareness to how things are being done. I would be happy to share my knowledge to people whom are interested.

    There are caves/mines around the property-- it was a mining site many decades ago. Town is 10 minutes away, wifi/cafe 3minutes away. There is cell service.

    Slocan lake is minutes away.
    Great hiking all around.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers will learn about the early stages of homesteading.
    Preparing spaces and developing systems for humans living in harmony with nature.

    Ideally, the tasks themselves will be learning experiences. They will be for me!

    I like to go to farmers markets, and this is a good opportunity to learn about the local culture.
    I'm happy to teach what I know about plant medicines and connecting with nature.

    I am connected with a couple communities in the area and there could be events that volunteers will be able to attend.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    -Repairing storage sheds.
    -Painting an old satellite.
    -Creating composting systems.
    -Re-purposing an old cabin.
    -Improving the outdoor bathing area.
    -Improving the yoga platform.
    -Making trails.

    Building skills are an asset, but not needed.

    Volunteers will have to be in generally good physical condition, able to spend 15 hours per week(3 days, or 2 if requested), often engaging in moderately challenging physical duties.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Would love to continue learning spanish. Can teach english.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are a couple areas available to camp, or park a van/RV. The property has glacier water and power, 1 minute from the camping area. There is a wilderness creek shower(its cold) and an outhouse.

    I can provide cooked meals in the mornings and late afternoons on working days. Food will be available for the other days so that work-awayer's can prepare meals. I can provide vegetarian or vegan meals.

    Food will be provided for volunteers. Volunteers will have access to a small(very small) kitchen and provided with food. Meals will be provided for volunteers, on working days. We eat a simple diet. Curries, veggies/grains with sauces. Big garden fresh salads. Occasional eggs/tofu. We like yummy oats on working days. There will be ample staple foods(vegetables, greens, quinoa, rice, beans, oats, eggs, etc) provided for volunteers.

    There are weekly trips into the nearest city for food, and could be mid-week trips to town. Volunteers are welcome to buy any items they like when we go into town(either with a request list, or coming along).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a bus that comes by that goes to nearby cities on Tuesday and Thursday.
    I make a trip into town each week and can usually bring people along.
    There are lakes, hikes, biking trails, hot springs, and more around to do.

    I like to keep things clean around the property and ask that people leave the space as good or better than when they arrived.

    No alcohol use on the property.
    No smoking, or substances(even natural substances) on the property.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    It's possible, yes. It's not easy. There is cell reception at the property, so data can be used via hotspot. There is no wifi service. Wifi is a couple km's away.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yes, there are some clearings where vans can park. Power is nearby, and water fill-up in a minute away.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes, I love pets. There is a shelter for pets.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 3 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 937324982291