A small family croft (smallholding) in the beautiful Highlands of Scotland

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

228 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 13 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    A small family croft (smallholding) in the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. We grow healthy food for local people - berries, vegetables, eggs, pork, jam etc, which we sell at local markets. The croft is run by Jo and Lorna with help from our two boys (Finlay and Angus) and local volunteers.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Construcción
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travellers will learn about rural life in the Highlands of Scotland, where agricultural activity is small scale and community based. We live in a stunning area - with easy access to the fishing ports and beaches in the west, mountains and peatlands in the north - yet we are only 20 minutes from Inverness, the capital of the Highlands (airport, train station, shops etc). Previous workawayers have enjoyed trips to visit castles, distilleries, Highland games, and neolithic burial sites! Travellers are welcome to attend community markets with us, and experience life at the heart of the community. Jo is well known in local food circles. He is a qualified horticultural trainer and keen to impart his knowledge to others.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would like help during our busy growing season. Work will include picking berries, harvesting vegetables, looking after our herd of rare breed pigs, tending plants in the polytunnel, washing and packing produce for market.
    During 2020 we are also doing some building work - and we need help with building a new kitchen for making our sausages and jam. Please say if you would prefer farm work or building work.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Travellers will stay in a caravan - this is our family caravan that we use for holidays so it is lovely, clean and well kept. There is one double bed and two singles, a washroom, cooker, fridge and lounge/dining area. We will provide bed linen towels and access to a washing machine. Food from the croft will be provided (eggs, sausages, bacon, vegetables) plus a well stocked provisions cupboard. Sorry - we can only take volunteers April - October, as it is too cold here in the winter.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Acommodation is suitable for a couple, or two friends, or a single traveller.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Around 5 hrs a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.7)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 867935124869