Help at a beautiful finca: olive harvest, gardening and enjoying nature in Cataluña, Spain



83 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hola y Bienvenidos to our beautiful, authentic Finca in warm and sunny Cataluña, Spain!

    We own and work on a piece of land (2,8 hectares) in the countryside in southern Cataluña, in the province of Tarragona. My name is Gerrit and I'm regularly living in Spain since my retirement. From time to time, I go back to Germany, so it depends on the month or the weeks you want to come. My sister-in-law and her husband live nearby and sometimes family members or friends are here to help and come for a visit. The more people we are, the better the shared time will be!

    We cultivate the property ecologically, sustainably and as gentle as possible for the ground, trees and plants. This means we don't use pesticides or synthetic fertilizer. During olive harvest season, we crop the olives using some smaller machines to strap the fruits off the branches.

    Gerrit bought a piece of land in the olive hills in the area with the family. Since 2004 we have been working on the countryside during holidays, constructed wooden timber houses, have taken care of the property and the garden as well as the trees and we have made the place a great 2nd home. There is an old rural house (finca) made out of stone which is used as a storage room, a caravan and two wooden houses to live.

    We have hot running water and electricity, since water is a valuable resource here, we save it as much as possible. In summer, we use some fans and in winter, we have an old tile stove to heat the house with wood and coal briquet. In the sleeping room next to the stone house, we can offer an electric radiator during winter time, if you need it. There are warm blankets for everyone, of course.

    Life is rather simple, but we enjoy exactly this atmosphere and simplicity at our place. It is very calm, peaceful and you are surrounded by nature here. Some neighbors live in the surroundings, but you have a lot of free space. We don’t have Wifi or TV at the finca, but there's phone/ internet connection up here (though it's not always reliable) 😉

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    It is necessary to have a car to move around, if you don't have one, I am happy to give you rides to the closer towns. We can go grocery shopping together and show you some nice places around here. The towns L’Ampolla and Amposta have a direct train connection to Barcelona and Valencia. The closest airport is in Barcelona-El Prat and can be reached in 2 hours by car or train from our place. Tarragona (60 km) is a beautiful old city with a roman amphitheatre (Unesco World Heritage). Nearby, there are amazing sites like the Miravet castle (40 km) and an old castle in Tortosa (30 km) as well as many rice fields which offer great opportunities to watch birds. It makes the area worth a visit and stay.
    I speak German and English, but I am happy to practice my Spanish, too.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We will need help with different daily tasks depending on the season and would be glad to have some helping hands with the following:

    - General maintenance around the houses (keeping it clean and tidy up from time to time)
    - Garden works (cutting plants and roses, chipping weeds)
    - Cutting olive trees and chipping suckers
    - Burning the cut tree-branches, chopping fire wood
    - Build up stone walls (sometimes they break down after heavy rainfall)
    - Mowing the grass between the trees with brushcutters and mowing machines
    - Help with harvesting olives (November-January)

    It would come in handy if you knew about constructing and handling machines like: cordless screwdriver, chainsaw, keyhole saw, brushcutter etc. However, I (Gerrit) can also show you how to use these machines.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    Volunteers can live in one of the wooden houses in a separate room, bathroom and kitchen are shared. There is as well the possibility to live in the stone house in a new sleeping room next to a shared shower/bathroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Depending on the time of the year, you can feel free to enjoy the diversity of fruits and nuts which grow here: oranges, lemons, grenades, persimmons, figs, almonds, some walnuts, grapes, medlars. It’s really a small paradise when the different fruits are ripe.

    A bigger city nearby is Tortosa, the smaller towns nearby are called l’Ampolla, Camarles and Aldea. The property is located in the area of the beautiful Ebro Delta (a big river in Spain, there are plenty of fish and seafood in the river and the Delta). The old fisher village l’Ampolla is a touristic place with a nicely built promenade, but it still maintains its traditional charme at the harbour and in the small streets. Sandy beaches that can be reached by car within 10-30 minutes and they're amazing--especially some larger beaches called Marquesa and Eucalyptus where you can go for hours for a walk.
    The smaller beaches close to l’Ampolla are pretty, too, and in summer and autumn you can go for a swim easily (in spring or winter season only for the tough guys, it is quite cold) 😉 The beaches here are perfect to go for long walks, a run or for kitesurfing.

    If you are interested in helping on this beautiful piece of land and experience rural life in Spain, you are very welcome to come and stay at the Finca.

    In order to help and volunteer at the property, we ask every volunteer to have a valid health insurance during your stay in Spain. Also, we ask you to have vaccinations against Sars-Cov-2 (Corona).
    Please note that volunteer work is at your own risk and we can't take the responsibility/ medical costs if you get hurt or seriously sick. The insurance and vaccine are crucial for your stay!

    When contacting us, please:

    Write a little bit about yourself, your age, what you were doing before traveling (job, studies, remote work etc), if you travel alone or as a couple and if you already have some experience in working with machines or in agricultural tasks.

    We're looking forward to hearing from you soon – feel free to ask any questions you may have regarding the stay, the work tasks etc

    Hasta luego!
    Gerrit and Laura

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 864748889613