Help in the garden of our bushland retreat near Snowy Mountains, NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

6 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    08/06/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have a lovely home on the edge of the village of Cooma near the Snowy Mountains, NSW Australia set within 10 acres of picturesque Ribbon Gum / Apple Box woodland. The property abuts an extensive bushland reserve with kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas, birds and other wildlife visiting our place regularly. Our courtyard-style vege garden is fenced from the wildlife and the house offers spacious living areas and bedrooms for guests, with lovely views from each room looking across the landscape.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    What we can offer in return is our experience in how to regenerate bushland and grow vegies and other skills - as well as point visitors to local areas to visit including wildflower walks in the snowy mountains in summer or skiing and snowboarding in winter. We are happy to provide English conversation practice for those learning English.

    We are an older couple very interested in all pursuits including music, art and environmentalism. Our district has many interesting historical and scenic qualities, with the alpine areas among the most beautiful landscapes in Australia.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We love to host visitors and would appreciate help in the vegie garden but mainly the conservation area on our property (and in some cases, in the public bushland adjacent, working through Landcare). The main work is weed work, erosion control and (for wet weather) helping us document this work using photo monitoring. Our aspiration is to live simply on our land and restore the plant community to good health, conserving it for future generations.

    We have good internet access and a reasonable mobile phone signal. Guests are expected to keep their own rooms tidy and (when eating with us) to help with meals or washing up. During the pandemic we apply COVID protocols including using hand sanitiser or washing with soap, keeping 1.5m distances and not sharing utensils or tools. We can separate our food preparation from that of the guest if preferred - or one or other group cam cook for all each night. (We ask guests not to eat in bedrooms.)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two guest rooms in a guest quarters at one end of a long, single storey home, with a guest bathroom between the two rooms. (Each has a queen bed or one can be split into twin beds). Each room opens out onto a wide deck offering extensive views of the woodland. Between our quarters and the guest quarters lies a shared open space living room/ dining room/ kitchen, leading into a book-lined table tennis room. Very comfortable house made for guests. (We sometimes have other guests but would not involve workaway helpers in supporting this side of our lives.)
    The property also has a tennis court for fun and relaxation.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many brilliant activities - bushwalking or cycling in the mountains in summer - in this local area. Cooma shopping centre is a short walk away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 859369646656