Islander crafter looking for general help on Stronsay, Orkney, Scotland

Country

Gran Bretaña

749 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    48  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live on the beautiful island of Stronsay, Orkney’s island of bays. I am an avid crafter and have a beautiful old chapel to work in. I enjoy company while making fibre yarn, cross stitch, greeting cards, knitting, die cuts etc. I am always experimenting with new techniques. Anyone who loves craft projects and art and design will fit in really well. I also love to discover new ideas and crafts from other countries.

    In 2022 we need help with landscaping and general gardening. We have to clear the land around the old chapel, plant grass and build a patio. There is a vegetable plot to look after at the house. The Chapel need painting as does the inside of our house. I prefer people who have experience of painting and gardening. If you like cooking, help with preparing our meals together is welcome.

    I am also looking for someone who loves to eBay. We have lots of clothes which need to be photographed, described, posted onto eBay and then sent to purchaser. Excellent English required for this particular work. So if you think you can help with any of these jobs, just get in touch.


    There will be plenty of opportunities to visit other small islands by 8 seater plane and of course Mainland Orkney is world famous for its Neolithic sites. The ferry between Stronsay and Mainland Orkney takes about 2 hours.

    You must love cats, we have two and 22 hens, so lots of fresh free range eggs!

    Due to Covid, I politely ask that you have been vaccinated and that you do lateral flow tests, for three days before arrival. This is for reassurance for our small community. If you were to test positive on the journey here, we have completely separate accommodation where you can self isolate safely.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Orkney is proud of its history and you will find local people can tell you all about their families going back several generations.

    If there are any parties or dances during your stay, you will be invited. Most events are held in our community centre but we also have a hotel and cafe where you can meet people. You will be made very welcome by our community.

    All the Orkney islands are rich in history. I can help organise visits for Workaways to other small islands for anyone who is interested in Neolithic or Nordic history and who loves the countryside and ocean, seals, puffins, migrating birds etc

    I swim in the sea all year with a group of friends and you would be welcome to join us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Experience with painting and decorating is essential if helping out with these tasks

    IT/ photography are needed skills for Ebay.

    Mostly I look for friendly happy people who will join in with island life, who love the outdoors, enjoy walking and meeting locals for the occasional drink or two in the island hotel.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    large upstairs room with sitting area, Tv and sea view. Bathroom downstairs. Usually I only have one Workaway but if I have two this room can be set up with two single beds and two sitting areas

    smoking not allowed in the house

    Three cats will visit you and expect attention !

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You can visit the world famous Neolithic Orkney on Mainland Orkney by ferry or plane. You can borrow bicycles for sightseeing. You can catch the little plane from Stronsay and visit other small islands including a flight from Westray to Papa Westray which is the shortest scheduled flight in the world. You get a certificate on the flight and a day on Papa is a lovely trip. All flights from Stronsay are discounted to approx £20 return. So well worth it. To/from Mainland takes between 90 and 120 minutes by ferry and about 10 minutes by plane. Reaching Orkney can take time so we suggest you plan your visit to last for no less than three weeks though most of our workawayers stay for a minimum of a month. Most fly into a Scottish airport and then either get a connecting flight to Kirkwall or travel by bus and ferry to Mainland Orkney. To get to Stronsay, you need to catch a ferry from Mainland, which goes twice a day. We meet you at the pier in Stronsay. It sounds complicated but it works well and all our Workaways have arrived safely and have enjoyed the travel through Scotland. I am happy to help with planning your journey here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day (max 25 hours/week)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)






























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 857898936856