Be involved in a tourism venture on beautiful Waiheke Island!

Country

Nueva Zelanda

341 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    28  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/11/2020

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are looking for people to help with painting, staining, cleaning, sanding, gardening, waterblasting and a range of other interesting projects.

    In particular we are doing two weeks of dedicated work on the property - from Monday 2nd October to Sunday 15th October 2017. It's the school holidays, and Dan has taken annual leave, so we plan to work every day - getting everything ready for the summer season. We are looking forward to hopefully finishing off a new farm fence, having a few bonfires, maybe staining the Lodge deck, closing in under our cottage, sew some grass seed and lots of other fun and rewarding activities.

    You need to have initiative, enjoy hard physical work and have a sense of satisfaction from a job well done. We prefer couples, to make the most of the accommodation available, and so you can explore the island together.

    We live on beautiful Waiheke Island which is only 35 minutes by ferry from Auckland City and is famous for its beaches, vineyards, restaurants, tourism opportunities and olive groves.

    The Onetangi Wine belt is a rural haven. We live in a tranquil, developing farm, right among the vineyards, looking down on Onetangi Valley. We are a short walk to the Waiheke Golf Course, sports park and neighboring vineyard restaurants. Our gate is right on the main bus route.

    We moved here in 2014 and have been doing lots of work to tidy up the property. We are enjoying bringing the land and buildings up to their full potential. We run a small, short term, accommodation business, in two cottages and a lodge; and also moved an historic wooden church onto the property.

    We have a five year old daughter, as well as sheep, chickens, doves, pigs, horses, ducks, a dog and a rabbit.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can see how a kiwi family runs a lifestyle block and small business. We do most things ourselves and are happy to discuss and show you what we do.
    You are welcome to meet lots of awesome animals and enjoy the space and beauty of Waiheke Island. We aim to teach you new skills and have variety in the work - so generally every day is different. We encourage you to undertake physical work and get a real sense of satisfaction from seeing the work you do make a real, physical difference.
    Dan is a park ranger so you can visit the local Regional Park and explore that as well. He is very knowledgeable about weed control, plants, pest management etc.
    We have both traveled around NZ extensively and are happy to share our knowledge about our country - or other countries you may be traveling to (between us we have been to over 75 countries).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love help to nurture our 15 acres of bush, paddocks, vineyards and olive groves. In particular the outdoor work includes pest management, painting, weed control, building, gardening, animal husbandry and more. Indoors we may need help with cleaning, laundry and toddler entertainment!

    We are looking for independent, mature people with initiative who are hard working and enjoy practical problem solving such as building, painting and physical work. You may also be involved in caring for all the animals e.g. feeding the lambs, rabbits etc. The accommodation is a short walk from where we are living, so you have plenty of privacy, and can enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the area.

    Couples are most welcome, as you bring a diverse range of skills. You will have your own accommodation, with your own fully set-up kitchen. Seeing as we eat at very odd hours, and not all together, we ask that you buy your own food and do your own catering. In exchange, we only ask for about three hours work a day - generally from 9:00am to lunchtime. We are right on a bus stop and you are free to explore the island in the afternoon.

    Please note that during school term Katherine and Dan are generally not on the property during the day, especially during weekdays. If you wish to volunteer between 18th October and late December 2017 you would need to have good practical skills and be able to work independently and with initiative. On the other hand, during school holidays we are around and enjoy getting lots of projects completed, with a lovely team of workawayers.

    While the setting may be tranquil, and the environment beautiful, the property is quite large, and we have lots to do before the summer tourist season starts - so we do work hard and are keen for you to work as fast and efficiently as possible. You are also welcome to meet ,and feed, all our animals - the horses, goats, sheep, dogs, chickens, doves, rabbit, ducks and pigs!

    We greatly appreciate workwayers' help, and have met some amazing people so far. We request that you only contact us if you will stay for at least a week or two week, as it takes a while to get to know you, show you the ropes and for all the animals and our daughter to become familiar!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You accommodation is most likely to be in a two storey Balinese/Mediterranean Cottage, which has full facilities, or a lodge - which is a large four bedroom house, at the top of the hill. The house is huge, and has wifi, an entertainment area, large deck, huge kitchen etc.
    At times, if we have bookings for the cottages or Lodge, then there may be a temporary stay in one of our cool caravans.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Live on a small, developing farm and learn about land and property management in NZ. Also partake in support a business venture on the island - watch it grow!

    In your spare time you can explore Waiheke Island - a popular tourist location with great beaches, workshops, art galleries, community events, cafes. At our discretion you may at times be able to borrow our car, and sometimes a bike is available to enjoy the surrounds - with lots of cycle tracks and a park just across the road.

    The supermarket is a short 5 minute drive away, and the Fullers ferry terminal is 15 minutes by car. We will try to pick you up from the ferry, but if this is not possible, our gate is right on the main bus route (bus 1), and we are in the vineyard area, neighbouring some lovely restaurants, and a distillery, so we are easy to find.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 hours per day (no more than 18 hours per week)

























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 843924467755