Support and companionship for young disabled man in beautiful English Lake District, near Ulverston, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

66 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are looking for someone (M/F/other) to provide support & companionship to our disabled student son whilst he is at home during university summer vacation.
    We (mum, dad and disabled 24 year old son) live at the south end of the English lake district in a small market town with good public transport links. We have an older son who currently lives in Leeds.
    We don't quite have views of the lakes and mountains but we don't have to drive far for great views, walks and countryside. Our house is quite spacious and we can provide a bedroom and private shower room and use of a car by arrangement. We don't smoke, have no pets and are not veggie/vegan. Dad is part time potter and mum is a keen cook/baker/breadmaker. Son spends a lot of time on computer and will be working on Uni degree (maths) online. Otherwise he is into music, cooking, films and travel (which is quite restricted due to his need for wheelchair access etc) We have a small garden and try to grow things to eat if possible! Our first language is English and mum speaks some French. Mum is Scottish, dad is half English/Polish born in the UK. We enjoy the outdoors, travel and good food.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a beautiful part of North West England and it is only about 30 minutes by car to some of the highest mountains in the country and so there is lots of nature to explore. Son has an all terrain wheelchair and a wheelchair accessible car (not driven by him) and so it is possible to go on some great walks. It may also be possible for you to borrow our car, subject to insurance, licence etc. We have a lot of books covering all sorts of subjects and we have a couple of bikes (M & F) which you would be able to borrow.
    We eat round the table and talk, about lots of things! Politically well left of centre and non-religious, though this town is famous for its association with the Quaker movement and is home to Swarthmoor Hall, one of the oldest meeting houses in the country. We also have a world famous kadampa buddhist meditation temple/centre about 2 miles away. There are a number of Christian based churches in the town but as far as i know no mosque or synagogue, though there are both Muslim and small jewish communities in the area.
    We are all, in different ways, quite involved with disability issues (mainly around cerebral palsy, alternative methods of communication, and access to education) and so there is also an opportunity to learn more about disability awareness
    and disability culture/politics/provision.
    I am more than happy to teach some cooking/baking/bread-making, or to learn some!

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There is no category for "supporting/companionship for disabled person" but that is mainly what we need. Our son is 24 and has cerebral palsy, uses a wheelchair and a communication aid (cos he cannot speak). He cannot feed himself or do any personal care and so we need someone who is willing and able to help him with all this...and to basically be a friendly companion and have some fun! You need to have good English, spoken and written and no ongoing back problems as there is some physical moving and handling required (no lifting). You must be able to prepare and feed meals containing meat and dairy and you would be responsible for things like keeping son's room clean and changing bed linen etc (the things he physically cannot do himself) and some washing up!
    No previous or special experience necessary just the right attitude and a willingness to learn new things and meet new people. All necessary training will be provided and I have full employers liability insurance.

    Our previous workawayer had no previous similar experience but fitted right in and ended up staying for quite a long time!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Having had a workawayer from Portugal I am now trying to learn some Portuguese, but am interested in all languages really!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Large airy double bedroom on the first floor with its own adjacent shower room and w/c. There is a TV/DVD player, and wifi throughout the house. It will have some of our son's uni staff stacked in the corner but there is still plenty of space. We'll supply all bedding, towels & soap, plus the use of the vacuum, loo cleaner etc.
    You would be responsible for cleaning your own room and shower room, as well as keeping communal areas reasonably tidy. We have a dishwasher and a washing machine & tumble drier which you can use.
    You will eat with us as part of the family and all food will be provided. Meals are home cooked from scratch.
    NB unfortunately because we already have to accommodate our son's dietary requirements we will not be able to cater for gluten free/dairy free/vegan diets. There will be eggs and nuts/sesame in the house but it may be possible to keep them out of meals if necessary. Vegetarian diet may be possible, but meat and fish will be on the menu and the helper would have to be comfortable handling these and feeding them to our son.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We had a long term workawayer (M) from Oct '20 til June '21 and it was a great experience and worked very well for us all. We have had live in helpers (short term) before, as well as people coming in daily from the local area, and so we are used to having others in the house. While you are here you can basically treat it as home and when you are having time off you will still be welcome to eat with us, or elsewhere if you prefer.
    One thing, that may sound a bit odd, we would request that you don't spray/use any strongly scented aftershave/deodourant/perfume as we seem to be a rather "smell sensitive" family! The same goes for scented candles or joss sticks in your room. Thanks very much.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have reasonable wifi and your room has a desk and chair.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Varied throughout the day, 6 days a week. Not overnight unless by prior arrangement. Not full on 24/7!



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 841942171981