Sustainable, off-grid, family homestead using permaculture principles in Kamloops, Canada

Country

Canadá

5 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Sadly we are near a wildfire and so are unable to host this year, but please keep us in mind for 2022!!

    We are a family of three, our son is 2 years old. Our 5 acre property is 30km outside of Kamloops, BC, beyond the Lac de Bois Grasslands. We purchased our land 4 years ago and built our off grid, passive solar cabin to move into during the summer of 2019. We currently have no running water in our house during the winter. We use a composting outhouse. We collect the rain water off of our roof in the winter for domestic use. Someday we want to have a biodigester to provide our cook stove with methane.

    Our dream is to develop the land into a lush permaculture food forest. We are striving to live as sustainably as we can while staying completely debt free. Ideally this property will serve as a template to educate others about sustainable living practices. We are still in the early stages of development and will be working on building garden space up by our house this spring. As well as planting our lower garden and greenhouse that is down by our trailer.
    We are excited to have help with our projects and are hoping to teach people the things we’ve learned about permaculture and off grid living.

    In 2016 we traveled through Central America doing workaway as a couple. It was an amazing experience that helped shape the people we are today. We have a deep respect for the program and are looking forward to now hosting,

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are living off grid using solar for our power. In the warmer months we have running water in the house and trailer from our community gravity fed spring. We use a composting outhouse and will be experimenting with using some of our finished compost this spring.
    Come learn about growing food, making compost, and enjoying nature not compromised by cellular service or constant reliance on the internet. It’s a lovely meditative life.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our property has a steep slope which you will need to climb at least once a day. The work is physically demanding. Here are some of the projects we will be working on as of this spring, in no particular order:
    Building garden beds
    Building a composting out house
    Building a greenhouse
    Post and beam wood shed
    Gardening
    Cooking
    Playing with our kiddo
    General chores (ie: feeding chickens)
    Making biochar
    Outdoor shower
    Gathering firewood and moving trees to use for building.

    SUMMER/FALL:
    -Building a larger hen house.
    -Building a roof over our travel trailer.

    We feel we have enough variety of work available for many different skill levels. If you would be more interested in child minding and cooking while enjoying our home in the woods, that would be lovely. And if you are interested in gardening, we have lots of knowledge to share. And if you have building skills we would be grateful for your help and can share what we are learning as we go along with our development.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Travel trailer: 27 foot trailer, queen size bed, equipped kitchen, propane stove/fridge/hot water tank, dining table/small extra bed, 3 piece bathroom (chamber pot style), DC solar for lights, outdoor fire pit.

    If volunteers are travelling together, but aren't sharing a bed there is space to tent or there is an additional small trailer with a double size bed also. The large trailer kitchen can then be shared.

    We will provide lunch on the days we work. As well as one or two dinners per week.

    There is a kitchen in the trailer for volunteers to make their breakfast and dinners. We will provide beans, rice and oats as well as any food ready for harvest from the garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our area is secluded, there is no cell phone service, no stores and limited internet access. You will be required to use a composting out house.
    We can pick you up in Kamloops and take you for any supplies you may need before we leave town. There is endless wilderness territory to explore around us.
    -15km to Red Lake which is good for fishing.
    -waterfall to hike to
    - lots of hiking right from the property
    - river nearby that is refreshing in the summer
    - we will take you to town once a week to pick up groceries and get cell service. (Possibly more, but every week as a minimum)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 Hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 826227546378