Help with preservation and restoration of a castle as part of a non-profit project in Picauville, France

Country

Francia

actualizado  

1825 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    25  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    58.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello,

    We are Jorge and Katia - two people with incredibly different backgrounds and life stories, who met through this platform a few years ago and are now working together to give a new life and purpose of this 12th-century castle by turning it into a Coliving and Coworking space for digital nomads and remote workers.

    Jorge has a degree in civil engineering and a big passion for languages. He is fully running the property and living full time on spot with his partner.
    Katia has a former corporate career in marketing and 10 years of nomad life, while also working on the constant restoration of the castle with her partner. She is spending around 10 days at the castle each month, while working on the project from distance the rest of the time.

    After a few turbulent years of restoration and remodelling with the help of family, friends and workawayers we created a non-profit association for the preservation of this patrimony and managed to turn the castle into a friendly and elegant space for people from all around the world who enjoy art, travel, culture and history. The purpose of the association is to restore, maintain and promote the natural, man-made and cultural heritage of Normandy.

    It is a great project and a unique human adventure!

    This January we are exceptionally closing the castle for any clients of business activity and dedicating the month into the restoration and preservation of this historic building.

    We are looking for easy-going, open and reliable people who would like to help us do this and become part of our family for a month.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will discover a historic site in Normandy and a beautiful region of France. You will meet an incredible community of digital nomads and full-time travellers. You can practise your French and your English with us on a daily basis. You will become part of our family!

    But most of all you will see and participate in the rebirth of an old French Castle!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Starting from 3rd if January until 30th of January (option to stay longer if we are a good fit, but please do not apply if you are only available for a week or two)

    Please apply in English only - it is the main language we use in the house.

    **RESTORATION VOLUNTEERS** (4 spots available for the month of January only)

    Our beautiful historical heritage needs to be preserved and maintained, so we are closing in January to do some renovations in the house. This is an exceptional opening for volunteers. We will be around 6-8 people in the house including Katia (one of the owners) and an architect friends (whom we also met by workway a few years ago.
    There will be no guests at this time, so the volunteers will be able to sleep in the actual luxury guest rooms and because it will involve getting your hands dirty, we're happy to cover 2 meals a day for everyone.

    We will be doing tasks in groups of 3 people of 3 full days a week (25hours) and 4 days off. Everyone will be off on Sundays.

    Tasks will include:
    - a lot painting :) - walls, windows, doors!
    - restoring some windows
    - moving furniture around -assembling, dissembling and carrying stuff around
    - work with wood - sanding, polishing floors, repairing windows
    - finishing works on some rooms and bathrooms
    - handy jobs - repairing broken things around the house including furniture
    - emptying some stuff from the basement and bringing to the depot
    - bonus if you have any skills or affinity for upcycling - we have a lot of old furniture and objects, which we would love to give new life to

    For these tasks it would be a big plus if you have experience painting and simple renovation tasks, if you are handy and fit to go up and down the stairs multiple times a day and not afraid to get your hands dirty.

    For the rest - we will make sure we have fun and not only work :) We will cook together, play games and enjoy the surroundings. If you're willing to come for the January assignment and then stay longer and give us a hand with some much lighter general help tasks in the house, that would be possible too.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    For the January assignment - volunteers can stay in the main guest rooms and we will cover 2 meals a day. Everyone will be welcome to cook for the group if they like (but it's also ok, if you prefer to manage your own meals).

    Everyone is responsible for the cleaning of the shared spaces after cooking as well as for cleaning their own bedrooms etc. (there is a cleaning lady taking care of the main cleaning ).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our property is located 3 hours drive from Paris, in the heart of the Norman countryside, close to the famous Sainte-Mère-Eglise and the D-Day beaches, an excellent base from which to explore the attractions of the region.

    There are lots of beautiful animals in the surroundings of the property - cows, horses, deers, hare and wild animals - it is the perfect place for nature lovers.
    The nearest small town is 5min by car, also the site of Mont-Saint-Michel is 1h30 from the property.
    You can organise day-trips and other activities with the colivers and use the car we have on spot when it doesn't interfere with shopping or other plans for the house.

    On spot, we have yoga mats which the volunteers can use, some basic gym equipment, bikes, also a lot of books in different languages and a huge park for walks and jogging.

    We also have stable wi-fi and a coworking space.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Yes

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yes

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes (with certain rules & restrictions, but open to discuss)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 822851792245