Help a family of three with a slow-building DIY house project in Öræfim, Iceland

Country

Islandia

new host  

38 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of three, living in a big house with my brother and a friend. I'm an visual artist (Eva) and Peter is a beekeeper. Ægir our son is two and a half years old and my brother and our friend are both rangers working in Vatnajökull National park.

    The housebuilding project is a longterm artproject which is a way to live and share space with an existing landscape/history and shape it so we can coexist in and within it. It´s a DIY project we started 2017 and mostly I´m building myself, although we have had carpenters in bigger tasks, such as changing the roof and placing the doors in and windows. Peter is also involved, but he´s working in the primary school so he does not have much time on it. I have had two exhibition about this project, one that I just took down few weeks ago in the local artmuseum, Svavarssafn.

    The househistory:
    When we arrived 2016, this house, an old supermarket, had been abandoned since the year 1967. Thats the year when the ring road was opened to the east. Before 1967, there was no road for cars over the powerful glacier rivers to get out of the area, called Öræfi (Öræfi means a desolated place which is a name that the area got after the volcanic eruption 1362, when the area transformed from being forest grown and rich of vegetation to a barren desolated landscape). The only way to move around before 1948, was by horse or by foot over the rivers or over the glacier. The shore here is not suitable for a harbour. But 1948 airplanes started to land here. By the year 1967, when the ring road was opened to the east, this house we are rebuilding was misplaced as a supermarket and a decision made to build a new grocery store close to the main road.

    We run an experimental artspace which is operated randomly and for the summer we are hosting an event in the beginning of July. During the autumn we are planing two events, one in November to celebrate the 100years old powerstation on our land, and another one in December. You can check out our fb site for the artspace: and my website is

    We have two cats and 12 chickens and my brother has an Icelandic sheepdog.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will share our house, our habits and life with the workawayers. There will be pleanty of opertunity for creative play with our son, chilling out with our cats, do gardening, tending to the chickens and studying the bees with Peter. We live close to spectacular natural wonders; mountains, glaciers, waterfalls and its all a part of the national park here in our backyard. The workawayers will have a great opportunity to see and understand environmental changes and meet people who have become experts in the surroundings, such as rangers in the park and guides on the glaciers. We will do activities together, such as hiking, going for trips to the swimmingpool in Höfn, visiting the local art museum and visit the ocean. The house project will provide diverse learning opportunities, such as painting and using power tools, like drilling machine and wood polishing machine. My son and I love singing and there are two organs from my grandfather in the house that are open for playing.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The help we are looking for is mainly to have a person who would enjoy to help us with easier tasks in building the house, to be the extra hand, since it can sometimes be limiting to only have two hands... It would mean painting inside and outside, continue wall-building inside with me, placing floor material on, etc. Babysitting, tending to the chickens and cooking meals would also be greatly appreciated and it can be a mix of it all.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Icelandic: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Eva speaks Icelandic and Peter speaks mostly Swedish at home. A Swedish speaking workawayer would be a great plus, since our son is learning Swedish from his father. Other wise, English is the language we expect to use.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A room in the familyhouse where we live in at the moment, five of us, and sometimes we have some additional people in the house that are visiting for shorter period.

    Peter and I are both foodlovers. Its important for us to share a warm meal once every day with our son, and we mostly make vegetarian meals in the evening. We would nevertheless love to introduce the workawayers to Icelandic traditional food, which is the food I was brought up on, although its normally not a prominent part of our diet. We are curious of other food-cultures and would be very happy to provide space for the workawayers to share their wisdom and tradition. For some time we have made our own tempeh, which is a tradition we got to know in the Netherland, originated from Indonesia. We also buy meat from a local farmer, which we use occasionally. The fridge will be open at any time during the day and the workawayers will use what ever they want from our stock.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The location is remote. There is a grocerystore/swimmingpool/service center 110km to the east in Höfn and 90km to the west. We have a cafe in walking distance and a bar 4km away.

    There is a bus that operates once a day but hitchhiking is quite possible and the people from the community often help out with sharing rides when needed.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a fiber cable as Internet so it is normally very good here.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is plenty of space for a campervan and it can be connected to electricity.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    It should not be a problem!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 822363242223