1 / 5

Cultural exchange and help around our family home in Puntarenas, Costa Rica

  • Costa Rica
  • 438 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 17 may 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción


    My husband Taylor, our dog Sulli, and I have a house located in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica, in the secluded beach town of Playa Zancudo. It is about 60 yards from the beach. From our porch, you can see the Gulfo Dulce and the Osa Peninsula. The house is on just over an acre, full of different fruits, flowers, and wildlife.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Playa Zancudo is a small local, one road town, where you will be fully immersed in Costa Rican culture. You can experience local cuisine, language, and the “Pura Vida” way of life. You will see wildlife, plants, and some fruits only found here in Costa Rica. Also, some of the best surfing, and fishing around is found in the Gulfo Dulce, our backyard. Excursions and Activities can be arranged with the hosts in advance of arrival and scheduled around work times.

  • Ayuda


    Currently looking for volunteers with knowledge and experience in gardening and animal care for July and August!

    When staying at our house you will mostly be responsible for feeding, walking and caring for our 60 lb 10-year-old dog,named Sulli. Ideally, we’d like you to have previous experience with caring for dogs with special needs. Sulli struggles with separation anxiety if he is not provided structure, proper exercise, and plenty of quality time. We expect that at least 60% of your time will be spent at the property or on the beach in front. We will also need help with mowing the grass, watering plants and/or pulling weeds, trimming trees and clearing the yard of palm fronds and coconuts, as needed. Electrical knowledge would be a plus, as there are a few light switches that could use rewiring. Also, anyone with social media marketing, videography, mural painting and construction skills would be a welcomed addition. The daily schedule would be an early start around 6:00am and work until 10:00am. The remainder of the day and afternoon would be yours to enjoy the beach, read, work remotely, prepare meals, work on creative projects, and cherish the tranquility of Playa Zancudo.

    We do not provide meals, but will ensure that you can get all the groceries you need before we leave. If you are able to provide carpentry skills, we are willing to negotiate to include some food costs.

    At this time, we do not provide transportation for our volunteers while they are staying at the house. We will assist in the transportation to and from the property when you arrive and will ensure you have transportation back to the airport/bus station. The local super market and a couple of nearby restaurants are within walking distance and a produce truck can deliver to the house twice a week. You may wish to look into a rental car or motorcycle and we are happy to assist with this, if available.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own private bedroom and bathroom with access to full kitchen, rest of house and property. You will be responsible for purchasing and preparing your own food.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many activities to do in and around Playa Zancudo. Our large veranda is perfect for yoga and creative projects with the peaceful sounds of nature. Many adventure activities and tours are available; such as, fishing, surfing, kayaking, and stand up paddle boarding. In terms of transportion, you will not have access to a motorized vehicle during your stay; however, rental opportunities might be available. You can get anywhere you need to go within Zancudo on a bicycle and walking is safe and easy along the beach and road. At this time, we do not have bicycle’s available, but you may be able to rent them in the area, if you wish. This Workaway exchange is ideal for the active travelers that enjoy working and playing outdoors amongst nature. Please note that we expect our volunteers to spend at least 60% of their time at the house or on the beach in the front yard and any planned activities or outings would need to be scheduled on off days or around working hours.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    In addition to our bed and breakfast, Emily works from home online in customer service. The internet speeds range and we have a back up battery for the wifi when the power inevitably goes out. Work out on the porch with the sounds of wildlife and nature.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is plenty of secure parking on the property, but no hook up for water or electric.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Max 15 hours a week, with 2 days off - no food

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 819826233976

Comentarios (4)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Organic permaculture in the foothills of Costa Rica
A special place in the mountains of San Jose de la Montana, Costa RIca