Volunteer with a community based organisation near Mumias -Munami village, Kenya

Country

Kenia

68 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    5000

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This is a community based organisation (CBO) registered as non profit making organisation ,currently serving over 100 households and found in Kakamega county ,matungu sub county in Namamali ward ,Munami village where the project is based .

    Working and supporting local community members in various activities ranging from and not limited to farming by providing training in best farming practices ,here farmers are shown how to grow their own food and supported with farm inputs for better and improved yields .

    We have Bicycle for school going children project ,here girls are provided with bicycles to ferry them to school ,we target orphans in this project .

    Third project involve training of youth in basic business skills and help link them to small micro lending institutions that are giving them small micro loans ranging from US$75 to US $500 to support their business that both make profit and help create employment for others .

    We have a small space that we house two computers and library for our youth and children who come to learn , read and share their experiences.

    We are using a holistic approach of social enterprise to solve some of the most pressing problems such as lack of quality education,food insecurity ,improved health and climate change.

    Personal I am a social worker with diversified field experience ranging from farming ,small business management ,project development and management .Am married with one wife and blessed with three children one boy aged 3 ,and two girls aged 7 and 11 respectively .Am also supporting one orphan who stays in my house.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers will have the opportunity stay and learn from our deep cultural beliefs and practices ,get a chance and share stories with community members and support them in some of the training through asking question and be in position to understand other people lives ,problems,and how those problems are being solved .

    Travelers will gain confidence/experience through participating in our activities together with community members, they will design common solutions and blend it or intertwine with their experiences thus creating tangible results as they deliver impact to the community.

    Travelers will be in position to create opportunities around our activities and thus find ways of engaging themselves even in future for mutual benefits .

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have specific duties such as to be done by volunteers

    1.Training of youth in computer skills at our computer lab .
    2.Training of youth on bicycle riding and safety .
    3.counseling community members on Hiv/Aids and health issues .
    4.Training of farmers on best farming practices and basic business skills ,value addition and climate change.
    5.Training of community members on new business and survival techniques .
    6. Support our library and tailoring department .
    7.Sharing and training of community members on cross cultural practices .
    8. Updating community web page and Facebook page, collecting stories from our users, taking photos and making videos from the field to support fundraising activities.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Home stay,with family members where cooking can be done together or Travelers can be provided cooking space to cook food of their own taste on request.

    Sometimes a house will be provided for the visitors on request.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    When volunteers are free can walk around the forest ,animal parks and visit scenery places such as lakes and oceans and support small activities in the house if they want.we shall offer bicycle for travelers if they know how to ride ,hire motor bikes for them and use public means of transportation when travelling around our communities .We can hire a car on request.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    we have 50 by 50 metre space big enough to accommodate big cars .

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs,cats and birds

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    Este anfitrión cobra una tarífa

    leer más
    US$5



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 818772343865