Gardening, woodwork, some construction and cooking in beautiful remote nature in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

166 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    18  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 15 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a young-hearted couple in the late 50ties from Switzerland and Germany with an adopted dog, a shy four-year-old female, who had been kept on a short chain and now appreciates freedom and a safe, loving home.

    We are installing ourselves in our off-grid house/property for a permanent stay, partly with self-sustainability. You are warmly WELCOME if you‘re also HONEST-HEARTED, friendly, respectful and LOVE and RESPECT NATURE and all recourses.

    You like to share your possible skills or else learn some, like to work hard. Are you happy to do any jobs that need to be done, as long as you know or are taught how to do them? Enjoy a variety of tasks, don’t mind getting dirty at work, but you’re generally a CLEAN person, outside, at your place but inside your heart and mind as well.

    We enjoy the quiet and REMOTE COUNTRYSIDE and go for little walks with our dogs, occasionally go cycling or go to the beach, do lots of work outside in the field and garden, love healthy and fresh food, and usually like quiet evenings.

    We also work part-time online.

    Are you also open-minded to new ideas and activities and appreciate cultural exchanges? There are lots of possible projects at our place we can do in teamwork or you can work on your own.

    We very much appreciate when you see jobs that need to be done and do them or offer to do them without being told.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Welcome to our home and enjoy nature and a calm area in a remote place in Alentejo (just north of Algarve), Portugal, surrounded by trees, bushes, flowers, January to June picking oranges and, of course, eating ;-) lemons, learn about some herbs for cooking and tea, relax in the countryside, and enjoy the view of the sea (10km areal distance).

    We have been lucky to have learned a lot from our workawayers, and we are also happy to share our experiences and knowledge with you.

    You may learn about:
    local trees and fruits and veggies,
    learn about the solar system,
    cooking together, baking Swiss cake, maybe making a Portuguese dish,
    lots of happy gardening,
    depending on the season, you can enjoy organic veggies and salad from our garden,
    meet local Portuguese farmers where we buy eggs and our fresh milk,
    a local butcher who gets meat from the area or the regional fish market. (of course, just if you like meat, fish and dairy products).
    We have a piano.

    I have no experience cooking for vegans, so I’d need help in that if applicable, but I know how to cook for vegetarians. You should not mind that we occasionally eat meat or fish.

    We have primarily healthy food, we are growing food in our garden but partly also have to buy fresh food in the shops. We love veggies, salad, fruit, sometimes barbecue etc. and occasionally wine. We like local meat and fish a couple of times a week, and the other days we cook vegetarian meals. Vegetarians and vegans are welcome too, but you would have to take over most of the cooking if you are vegan, as I have little experience cooking vegan.

    We offer one warm big meal a day, the other meals are expected to be cold. On your working days we usually cook and enjoy the main warm meal together at lunch time, approximately 1-3 pm. For breakfast, supper and in-between snacks, we provide fresh food you like.

    We usually enjoy quiet evenings and often early nights and we work online most evenings during the week. This meant it’s been a bit lonely for single workawayers when we could only spend 1-3 evenings a week with them. So, please keep this in mind if you want to join us.

    Mutual respect, tolerance and honesty are important keys to a pleasant and beneficial experience at our place.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Depending on your skills, there are various possible projects. We are looking for help in:

    Important job for August/September 2022 if anyone is available:
    Help finding a leak - and fixing it - on our roof or roof terrace. We’ve had rain dropping in our house in winter 🙃!

    EASIER jobs:
    - gardening (weeding, digging, planting, pruning)
    - small garden redesign for grey-water collection
    - woodwork and building outside furniture (partly with palettes)
    - interior design (plus little art projects)
    - sewing (curtains, cushions, etc.)
    - pruning, cutting wood, etc.
    - painting

    - cooking
    - maintenance in and outside the house
    - cleaning

    Other SKILLED jobs - or - you are at least talented or interested:
    - plumbing jobs
    - plastering and tiling
    - construction jobs

    Important:
    You want to be protected in the rough countryside, so please bring along good working clothes, good shoes for the countryside and garden, a hat, and also necessary sun protection!

    Do you love dogs? That's great because we adopted an abandoned dog, a lovable female. Unfortunately, she is always scared of new people, but she’s friendly and our last workaway made close friends with her within less than two weeks, which was great progress for her :-). We are planning to get a dog teacher to help her get less scared of people she doesn't know.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Remote place in the beautiful nature.
    For your private time you can mainly use our lovely accommodation container, including a "sunroom", which serves as a kitchen with table, chairs, stools and bar, and a gas cooker. In the morning, the sun warms up the sunroom kitchen. In the evening, the sun shines on the west of the container onto the bench under the cork tree. There's also a fridge, sink, warm water shower and a dry toilet. The gas heater keeps you warm for the slightly colder seasons. We expect that you keep your space tidy and clean.

    Our main house is partly traditional and modern. You can enjoy the beautiful sea view (within 10 km areal distance) from our property.

    Important:
    We don't accept smoking or excessive drinking at or near our property. Respect for nature, resources such as water, electricity and no waste of food is paramount.

    Our home is absolutely off-grid, out in the beautiful countryside, and it's really tranquil out here! Many young ones, who didn’t have their own transportation felt it was too remote after 10 days.

    We ‚only' have a solar system for electricity and our well for water, which means you need to be open to appreciate ELECTRICITY and WATER resources with MODERATE use and conscious approach and RESPECT for our wonderful nature. For example, have a shower before the sunset.

    We have experienced that it's tough for many volunteers and also our visiting friends to understand that water cannot come endlessly out of the tap and that electricity doesn't simply come out of the socket ;-)) Since prices of such resources are shooting up the roof in Europe, this may be your chance to learn how to use them moderately.

    Internet:
    You may use our hotspot for 15€/15 days 30 GB, if you don't have your sim card or hotspot (VODAFONE or MEO work fine here).
    We work part-time online, but our separate WIFI is unfortunately not stable enough for several people to work online simultaneously. This is why we recommend a separate hotspot for you.

    Transport:
    There is no public transport to or from here but don't worry, we, of course, will pick you up, it's a 20 minutes car drive to the next town and a bus stop, 25 minutes drive by car to the beach. We can give you a lift to a nearby place or near the beach a couple of times a week. It's a great place if you have your own means of transportation

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We can pick you up from the next town, São Teotónio, coaches, commute either from Lisbon airport southwards within 3 hours to S Teotónio or else from Lagos to S Teotónio within about 1 hour.

    If you wish, we can occasionally take you to a place you may like nearby (beach, town, etc.) a couple of times a week or else further south to the Algarve if we can combine it with our plans. If you want to see more of the country, you can work longer hours, take off three or four days at the weekends, and pack some food. We can give you a lift to the next bus stop in São Teotónio.

    Do you enjoy a barbecue with meat or fish or just veggies? Do you want to play on our piano? We enjoyed playing cards with our last workawayers and are happy to learn new games from you.

    There’s lots of space outside with tables, deckchairs, a hammock, etc. You can go cycling with us, and you can go on short or long walks or a run, in the evening enjoy the sunset outside with a view of the sea, read a book, with a glass of Portuguese wine or a cup of tea with herbs from the garden.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You may use our hotspot Vodafone 4G, for 15€/30 GB for 15 days. Or else you bring your sim card or hotspot (VODAFONE or MEO work fine here). We partly work online, but our WIFI is unfortunately not stable enough for several people to work online simultaneously. This is why we recommend a separate hotspot for you.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Campervan or motorhome owners are very welcome. There's enough space, with a view to the sea (10 km areal distance to sea), gorgeous sunsets, and a connection to water and electricity (solar power). There's a dry toilet and warm shower plus kitchen facilities with a gas cooker, fridge, sink etc., at the living container.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (or more hours on less days)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)
















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 817626137241