Join us with our Rammed Earth House Building/Permaculture Project in South Burnett region of Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

218 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    55  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    173

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are finishing our building of a rammed earth house using natural building techniques and developing our permaculture garden. The house is off grid in beautiful bushland and our electricity is produced from our solar panels. Our filtered drinking water is collected off the roof and other water is pumped from the river.

    Stuart, from Zimbabwe, works in irrigation and Miranda, from England, is a teacher. We have been in Australia for 17 years. Our 1 teenage daughter helps us when possible and the other is travelling. We have 2 dogs and 1 cat and chickens.

    We have traveled around Africa, Europe and hitch-hiked around South and Central America.

    We have made great progress with the help of our volunteers and are nearly finished our first of two houses. We like to have volunteers to discuss and share ideas, swap stories, and to join us on our journey.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will work alongside you and teach you about the building process as we go. We can teach you about permaculture principles and about organic gardening. The camping set up makes for great opportunities for discussions around the camp fire. As a teacher I am happy to help with language for those who are learning English.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The building currently involves carpentry, finishing the doors and windows.Stuart will work alongside you at all times and Miranda will join in after school, on the weekends and holidays. The gardening involves establishing a food forest, weeding, planting and picking vegetables. Anyone who enjoys cooking is also welcome! We have just got new bees and are getting honey too.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can offer camping in a bush camp with electricity, open air shower (with a great view) and toilet at our house building site. You can use our tents and sleeping bags if you have none. We encourage everyone to get involved with preparing meals. We are very nearly self sufficient in food and use our own organic vegetables. We welcome vegetarians.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a large river on the property which is great for swimming and kayaking. We have 2 kayaks. There is a new bitumen cycle track at the bottom of the drive which connects us to the region (Brisbane Valley Rail Trail). We also have some bikes. We are 6 km from Wondai, the nearest town, on a dirt road, in the heart of the South Burnett region of Queensland. Here there is an art gallery and 2 museums. There is a free community event called Park Run every Saturday which is a timed 5 km run along the cycle track from Wondai. Sometimes in the evenings we watch projected movies on a big screen. There is phone coverage for Telstra and Optus.

    Previous volunteers have spent days off relaxing, swimming, kayaking or have come to Kingaroy for the day. We have organised trips to our local dams and taken our volunteers to community and family events.

    We are at the north of the Sunshine Coast, just one hour from Gympie by car and an easy bus ride from Caboolture (near Brisbane, available Mon-Fri only). The bus costs $53 one way, here is the timetable.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)


































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 811617993881