Experience Country Living in Eastern Ontario and help us with our garden and animals, Canada

Country

Canadá

38 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/03/2020

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are on 24 acres of fields, forest and marsh just outside historic Brockville, Ontario in the beautiful 1000 Islands area. We are approximatelt 50 minutes from Kingston and a little over an hour from Ottawa, and close to two bridges to the USA.

    A great location for those who choose to commune with nature, walk on our foot path through the forest, or bicycle or read, play music or write.

    We are omnivores, raising as much of our own meat and growing as much of our own vegetables as possible.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Guests will enjoy a beautiful country setting and learn about gardening, permaculture, self sufficiency, caring for poultry, ducks, rabbits and foraging.

    Depending on the time of year you will also help with and learn about preserving.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help in our gardens where we are implementing many permaculture techniques and general help around the property.

    We also need help taking care of our animals (including walking the dog daily!). We have rabbits and free ranging chickens and ducks. I also mealworm farm.

    We ask that you help 4 to 5 hours per day, 4 -5 days per week for a one to 3 week period. Work will include:
    Working with animals (chickens, ducks, rabbits, dog and mealworms)
    Gardening (lots of weeding, digging, shovelling and lugging stuff in wheelbarrow, making hugels, harvesting, preserving)
    Foraging
    Cutting grass
    Help around the house, including meals.
    May also include help painting, chopping wood, building...whatever. We tend to make up projects as we go.
    If you are interested in an art, masonary or other project, run it by us!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We live in 19th century stone farmhouse. You will have your own fully finshed bedroom. We have room for more than 2 workaways if anyone is willing to stay in a tent while here. We are omnivores, raising our own meat and growing our own vegetables (as much as we can!)
    We don't care if you smoke, but you must do so outside.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are only 20 minutes from Brockville, close to a provincial and a federal park on the St Lawrence River. A new arial park is very close by.

    We are also less than 30 minutes from Gananoque where there are cute little shops, great restaurants and cafés, as well as an outstanding live theatre.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 798385454258