Enjoy a unique way of life in Barbuda, Eastern Caribbean

  • Antigua y Barbuda
  • 355 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 7 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas



  • Descripción


    We are a grown up family living on Barbuda (Antigua and Barbuda) with three small businesses between us - a cafe/craft shop and small-holding, a beauty therapy business, and a glamping site/guest house on the beach.

    We are very happy to host anyone who is practical, can use their initiative, is willing to work hard and may have skills or qualifications in any of the following areas:

    DIY especially currently painting and decorating (using a ladder); everyday cleaning, simple construction or knowledge of carpentry/solar/electrics/plumbing; child-care, and in massage and beauty therapy,

    We have hosted many volunteers in the past who have helped with various things and in many cases become friends. We would love to host you and show you our beautiful island in return for five hours of work per day, five days a week, and we will give you a double bedroom accommodation during your stay, plus meals. We are usually busy and so don't take volunteers without clear start and end dates so please do contact us with your plans to see if we can fit you in.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Although things have not been easy on Barbuda since Hurricane Irma (we were without electricity for two years ) and then Covid, we received support from around the world through friends and volunteers. We have always been a tight knit, resilient and strongly independent community, at odds with the government in Antigua about our way of life. You will see an (almost) unspoilt Caribbean island that has not been compromised by tourism but is threatened by development. Barbuda has amazing wildlife and nature, and you will meet local people who are welcoming and kind. You will be invited to take part in local family and community activities and learn all about the islands fascinating and unique history and culture.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We need flexible and adaptable people who understand family life (we are three generations with a five year old and a new baby) and who have good practical skills, are willing to try new things, maybe have some experience or qualifications, lots of energy, enthusiasm and who are happy working from 8am to 2pm five days a week.

    The general tasks - depending on your area of interest - include everyday things like cleaning, painting and decorating, simple construction, some carpentry (sanding, finishing and making shelves/cupboards etc) bathroom and kitchen tiling, plumbing, solar energy. We need outdoor work including yard-clearing, bike or vehicle repairs, gardening and planting. We try to give you a wide variety of tasks that you are good at and happy doing (ie some of the above - not all of the above, so you choose from a list) and we make sure you have plenty of time off. We also encourage you to understand the local work practices here.

    We host lots of different people - some are very skilled in one area for example car mechanic or carpenter, others are unskilled but practical, and happy to do whatever is needed at the time as this often changes. For example, if it rains we will want to quickly dig over and prepare the ground and plant seeds. But if it doesn't rain, we might be painting indoors for a few days.

    We are currently working on finishing the building of our beach house: there is some painting inside and outside, making and fitting cupboards and furniture, tiling, and there is always cleaning, general maintenance and repairs at home. We would also be very interested in help with the beauty therapy/treatment business especially if you are qualified and have experience in this area.

    In return we will give you your own accommodation in our home and on the beach at the guest house. We either cook for you or give you the supplies to make your own meals. We will introduce you to our friends and take you to see the islands places of interest - including the most amazing natural beaches in the world.

    To apply please initially state which kind of work we have listed that you are interested in and the potential dates you would like to come; this can be flexible or may change a bit but it helps us all to plan.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a large four bed (nearly finished) house in 2 acres of land. You will have your own double bedroom and share the use of the rest of the house with us. I cook for our cafe so you will be offered lunch every day with mostly the same local ingredients - so lots of fish, lobster and other local Barbudan produce. We do raise, kill and eat our own animals so you will need to be ok with this but we are happy to host vegetarians. We have chickens, goats, cattle and horses - but not all are here on the property. We provide your other food but you might buy street food or prepare your own food and snacks at other times such as at weekends; there are several really nice fast food sellers and snack shops here on Barbuda and we hope you will use them.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have had many previous volunteers who have quickly made friends here; enjoying the lifestyle, the beaches and going fishing, hunting, beach-combing and out on boat trips. Barbuda is very expensive as everything is imported so you will need your own funds to pay for these extra activities, but you will be supporting the local economy, making friends and experiencing much more if you do.

    You will come to Barbuda via Antigua, as the ferry and/or flights for Barbuda leave from Antigua and at least one overnight stay there is necessary at the start and at the end of your stay with us. We ocassionally go to Antigua to buy some groceries and for other essential services when we need to, but it is very expensive for us to do this, so you should try to buy anything important you need there, before you come to Barbuda.

    We have access to a family vehicle most days for work, and go out to the beach occasionally for picnics, happy hours and camping, but we don't go every day. You can use our bike or get taxis or hire a car if you want to go out every day. There is only one village so there are not many shops and only a few bars. Barbuda is very quiet and isolated and not for everyone, but we will do our best to share our love of it with you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 784438991634

Comentarios (13)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.8)

Enjoy a calming and happy experience caring for donkeys in a sanctuary in Antigua and Barbuda