Bring your carpentry and landscaping skills and come experience the amazing Okanagan Valley, Canada

Country

Canadá

55 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    305

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of five: Bruce and Brigitta and 3 teenage daughters. We love to host, entertain, and meet people from all walks of life. Bruce and Brigitta have traveled all over North America by motorcycle before having children, and as a family we continue our love of the road with camping trips throughout BC and the western United States. We live in West Kelowna, BC which is part of the beautiful Okanagan Valley, the heart of wine country. Our home has an amazing view of Okanagan Lake and the city of Kelowna. We are in a quiet, semi-rural setting with many kilometres of hiking and mountain biking trails accessible from our door. We are seven minutes by car from Okanagan Lake where we have a wakeboard boat moored in the marina. We are also only minutes away from world class wineries, some of which hold outdoor concerts and music festivals most weekends in the summer. We have built our home ourselves over the past few years. Although the house is functionally finished, we still need to install some of the finishing details like moldings, railings, tiling and other miscellaneous details. We are also taking on the landscaping this year, including building a deck around the swimming pool. We look forward to meeting new people and building lasting friendships.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Okanagan Valley is one of the most beautiful areas in Canada, This would be a great opportunity for both us as hosts and you as Workawayers to learn from each other's cultures. We are a typical Canadian family (balancing school, work, sports, and family) and can offer a bird's eye view of what Canadian living is like. We are water sports and outdoor enthusiasts, and enjoy playing in and on the glorious waters of Okanagan Lake after a hard day's work. The Okanagan Valley is renowned for its scenic beauty, agricultural bounty, and rich cultural district. We live minutes from world-famous West Side wine trail. Brigitta is a holistic nutritionist, and is eager to share her knowledge of cooking with locally-sourced, traditional whole foods and preparation. This knowledge has laid the foundation for the way we eat.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main focus would be finishing the house and the landscaping, but some housecleaning and cooking may be required. Carpentry tasks include baseboard trims, moldings, stair railings, and step nosing. Bathroom and kitchen back splashes require a tile setter's touch, while some walls await a paint roller and brush. Landscaping projects around the home and the pool deck include planting lawn, garden walls, walkways and drainage. I do have a Bobcat and small excavator to help with the heavy lifting. We would prefer a couple.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    French: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A self-contained guest suite with microwave and mini-fridge, full bathroom, king bed and seating area. The suite features a separate entrance onto a large common deck, barbecue area and pool, all with a beautiful view overlooking the lake. Our home is open for you to enjoy. While food is included, not all meals will be family meals, and so self-serve is required at times.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Depending on the skill set of Workawayers, we hope to have potential flexibility on daily hours of work in exchange for more days off. (ie: work 8 hours one day and none the next)

    We are seven minutes by car or 20 minutes by bicycle (available to use) to public transit, but we can accommodate rides when it fits into our family's busy driving schedule.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 768816881212