Help with a cabin and caravan renovation project in the hinterlands of Byron Bay, Australia

Country

Australia

78 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    175

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi guys! Please have a good read to see who we are and what we can offer in terms of a work/accomodation/lifestyle exchange.

    OUR FAMILY:

    We are an Australian couple with 2 beautiful happy friendly children: Fynn (10) and Maia (7).
    We are both worldwide travelers and past 'workaway' workers.
    We have also hosted "workaways" with much success on a similar project.

    We have recently bought 7 acres in The Pocket (10 mins drive from South Golden Beach and 25 mins to Byron Bay) where we are working towards creating a mini self sustainable, eco friendly community.

    OUR PROJECT:
    We have a few building/carpentry projects on offer. 1) help to renovate a fixed caravan - rip and re-lay floor and paint or install new cupboards, close in covered deck and 2) close in the deck of another cabin and build a simple kitchen bench there around the installed sink. These jobs require people who already have some building/carpentry/handy experience

    Then there's help with creek restoration, general property maintenance and the chance to use your permaculture skills in our orchard and vege plots. Which will come next.

    Your accommodation is a self contained cabin about 10m behind our house with beautiful vistas. You can also come in your own campervan or bring your own camper trailer or caravan if you prefer park away from our house in the paddocks.

    We're into healthy, clean conscious living (eat a wide range of good whole foods, though not vegetarian) and enjoying the paradise that surrounds us! We plan to only offer accommodation for the 15 hours work but are also happy to discuss the possibility of offering food also for the 25 hours that workaway suggests.

    **This can also be a paid job for anyone with building/carpentry skills who is keen to help us complete the cabin & caravan reno jobs working full time.

    We are looking for a like-minded handy people with carpentry, design or building skills or abilities.

    We would love 1-2 people to start ASAP (May 2022)

    Please read the details below and leave your phone contact when you message us so we can call you to chat as that is easier than messaging back and forth. Thanks!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can benefit from the wholesome slower pace of living by soaking up the natural surrounds of the Byron Shire hinterland mix of the range, open pastures, rainforest, creek, dam and wildlife. If you pop in the car you can enjoy the river and beach lifestyle within 10 mins drive or the boho vibe of Mullum or shabby chic vibe of Byron Bay.
    You could learn about many things depending on the project and your interests.

    As fellow worldwide travellers we love talking about travelling and can share stories and tips.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    LOCATION: Come and experience the Byron Bay hinterland lifestyle (without the crowds) in your own self contained cabin in the Pocket. We feel miles away from the crowds but are only 10 mins drive to stunning South Golden Beach and 25 mins drive to buzzing Byron Bay or 30 mins to the Gold Coast!

    OUR PROJECT: We will have many projects on offer in 2022. But the first one is to do a bit of building/reno work on a cabin and caravan. The cabin/caravan restoration project is for about 3-6 weeks. There is paid work on top of work exchange hours to a motivated person who has the skills to do this job.

    We love motivated, easy going and health conscious people (no cigarettes or drugs or heavy drinking please) who can get on and get stuff done and chill in downtime or go and enjoy our local area.

    FOR FUN: Soak up nature, enjoy the local farmers markets, beach time, river time, surf time, dance time, yoga time etc. You can come with us on weekend outings to local areas of natural beauty or go off and do your own thing in Byron Bay, Gold Coast or wherever.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    ACCOMODATION: A self contained 19sqm cabin 10m behind our house with basic kitchen facilities (kettle, toaster, convection oven and hobs, fridge). There is a standard bathroom in it but no proper kitchen. A later project will be to set up a better kitchenette on the balcony of this cabin.

    FOOD: No plan to provide unless you prefer this option to work 25 hours and get fed. If so we can discuss this.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Pocket is a quiet, rural, natural lush area that is 10 mins inland from South Golden Beach which is a stunning long stretch of sand and clear blue ocean only a drive away. There's also a skate park (we have 1 skateboard and a scooter) near the beach and a cool shabby chic cafe called Mrs Birdy that does nice food, juices and coffees.

    The closest shop is Main Arm Shop/Post Office and Cafe which is a 5 min drive, Billinudgel, which is a rather hillbilly tiny town but with a good Indian restaurant and pub with decent food, plus a general store, op shop, hairdressers, massage center and industrial estate with a couple of funky coffee brewers.

    You can also drive to the New Brighton farmers markets on Tue where there is a nice river beach for swimming and another nice cafe and general store. And Ocean Shores or Mullum towns are only 15 mins away.

    Then 25 minutes drive south is world renowned Byron Bay where everything awaits!

    And the Gold Coast and airport is only 30 mins north.

    YOU really need A CAR to get around here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Currently we have limited NBN satellite internet and the signal only just reaches your accommodation, so you you can gain access for checking emails etc but no capacity for uploads and downloads or VPN or streaming use due to small data allowances.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    if you have your own accommodation you can park in our 7 acres of lush land, with paddocks (no livestock), orchards and rainforest pockets. There are areas accessable that are out of earshot of our home. Or you can also stay in our s/c cabin.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    15 hours a week as per workaway. Or 25hr with food.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 767379757954