Sunshine Coast adventure for outdoor enthusiast in Sechelt, Canada

  • 13 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 30 jun 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    This year, at the end of May &/or beginning of June, 2024, it needs some extra maintenance.

    I absolutely love where I live! The Sunshine Coast of BC is surrounded by ocean and forests, offering an abundance of activities for outdoor enthusiasts such as myself. I am actively involved in my community, volunteering and participating in a wide variety of ways. I fell in love my western red cedar log house 31 years ago and have been modifying and maintaining it throughout the years. The property is bordered on two sides by a park that contains 3 spring fed ponds with a myriad of birds and aquatic life, including a couple of resident beavers!

    The ocean is right across the road and beautiful hiking trails are scattered all over along the coast line. Since buying my home, I have done a large number of renovations and maintenance projects making it into an amazing sanctuary from life's busy-ness. I run my own independent mortgage broker business from home, helping people purchase their own homes while navigating the absurd Canadian financial systems. This workaway experience would be great for a workaway couple. I enjoy meeting new people, discussing philosophy, the ways of the world and and finding things both in common and not in common. I believe that peace is not when everyone agrees. It is when we can respect our disagreements and still play in the sandbox together.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Specifically, I live in Sechelt on the Sunshine Coast, a 40 minute ferry ride from Vancouver, British Columbia on the traditional territories of the Coast Salish peoples–- Sḵwx̱wú7mesh and shÍshÁlh first nations. There is ample opportunity to learn the history of the first nation peoples and learn how they are reclaiming their languages, arts and traditions. Depending on the time of year, there may be opportunity to attend an event at the long house or at the very least attend the Tain-Ko Museum and gift shop. There may also be an opportunity to attend a fabulous "Talking Trees" tour guided by Aboriginal Eco Tours.

  • Ayuda


    Every 4 years or so, my western red cedar log house needs to be refinished.

    Many of the logs will need to be sanded, using a combination of belt sanders and palm sanders. Once the sanding is complete, then they will need two coats of stain. Scaffolding will be set up to reach the higher areas. I also have a number of veggie garden, culinary and herbal medicine garden beds that need regular tending and watering. I am a good cook, but after raising 3 children (now adults), I very much appreciate eating food someone else has planned and co-created. Pot luck meals are my favourite!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I have always wanted to learn Spanish so a Spanish speaker would be fun. I remember a tiny bit of French from waaaaay back in my high school days. It would be nice to have a French language refresher and to challenge how much I remember.

  • Alojamiento


    There are 2 private bedrooms available on the main floor of the home. One with king bed (great for a couple) and the other with a double bed. You will have your own private bedroom, dresser and closet. The main bathroom/laundry will be shared with one other workaway (unless your a couple and then you'll be the only workaways) and the host that consists of sink, toilet, shower and laundry.
    I will supply a good selection of food for meal prep and snacking. I don't have any dietary restrictions and meat or fish form part of most of my dinner meals. I also have a garden with fresh vegetables that can be incorporated into meals as seasonally available. I generally bake healthy snacks, such as muffins and granola bars each week. During the summer months, the Barbecue is my preferred cooking method. I would appreciate meal prep help while you're here. I am not great at accommodating dietary restrictions, such as vegan or vegetarian, as I am unfamiliar with a broad range of recipes for this preference. If this is the case, I'll need you to lead the food prep and I am happy to help and taste your creations. I also have a modest workout room with weights, bench & exercise bike as well as bicycles. I prefer non-smokers and absolutely no smoking can occur indoors. The house also has A/C, but it is rarely required in this area.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The town of Sechelt is a 3 minute vehicle ride, 10 minute bicycle ride or 20 minute walk from the property. From there, public transportation can take you to the rest of the Sunshine Coast. The Sunshine Coast is known for expressing their creative sides and hosts a plethora of arts and cultural events throughout the year, including dances, concerts, farmers' markets, film festivals, gallery exhibitions. Sechelt means "the land between two waters" in the shÍshÁlh language. We are surrounded by the ocean which means there are loads of ocean activities available, such as paddleboarding, kayaking, boating, swimming, fishing, etc. The ocean is right across the road from the property and the forest hiking right out the back door. A world class downhill cycling course (Coast Gravity Park) is located only a few minutes away.
    I volunteer and am very involved in the community. I often attend/host community events and attend musical events/dances that you would be welcome to join. I am an outdoor enthusiast and a DIY'er, having complete many projects around my home.
    After a hard day of work, you can also simply relax in the onsite hot tub and/or plunge pool while watching the migratory birds flit about the spring fed ponds located in the tranquil, private back yard.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I operate a sole proprietor, home based business that relies on reliable internet. I have both hard wired options as well as good Wi-Fi for those needing to access it for any online work. It would be great to have an office mate to share coffee breaks with.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have a very large driveway that can accommodate a motorhome or vehicle. I also have a sani-dump area for a motor home connected to my sewer system.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 767189242533


Our log home welcomes some loving care near the village of Wakefield, Quebec, Canada
Help with daily life and DIY in a small town in northern BC, Canada