Organic farm in Douro Valley, Portugal, needs caretakers.

Country

Portugal

697 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    44  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    988

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    82.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are in a farm located in Douro Valley with a magnificent view over the Douro river. We produce wine grapes, olives, olive oil, fruit and our organic red wine. We also have a vegetable garden, some animals, sheep, chickens, two donkeys, cats and dogs. Our forest it’s an inspiration. We are now ( 2022 ) closing 🙏 a process of conversion from an intensive way of production to an organic. It’s been a long and hard process in all senses. But it’s our ethic and our responsibility. We have some beautiful housing structures that we intend to rebuild step by step mixing traditional and eco methods. We are focused in joining together the tradition, the ecological and technology. We are engaged with a simple way of living respecting all the beings in the system. We have a great compromise with art, we give preference to artists that intend to have an inspiring retreat in which they will develop their own artistic projects.
    We consider that the stay should be in minimum one month. We feel with the experience we had that is really important engage with this system and the project. Time to arrive. Time to get involved. Time to give and receive the best from/to this place.

    Our mission - to achieve an eco-system where we honour, respect and embrace all beings.

    🙏

    Maria

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will benefit from:
    - A tranquil, quiet and simple space, with a strong sustainable and environmental mission;
    - Experiment farm life;
    - Artistic retreat;
    - Good accommodation;
    - Practice Portuguese language;
    - Systemic constellations;
    - quiet and peaceful place
    - contact with animals
    - inspirational place to artists
    - life in family
    - possibility of do a retreat
    - learn about organic production
    - be in contact with wild life
    - learn about viticulture and wine

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We started the experience in March 2018, with any expectation, and you could believe, was an amazing period. We feel so grateful to everybody that cooperate with us 🙏
    The experience during and before pandemic start to be more challenging. Mainly because of the interests and the insecurity of the times. And we understand.
    But we need to say: Our place takes us a lot of resilience, work and energy to the transition we did, and we are still doing. We really need people that loves and respect nature that want to be in service to a system that wants to do a shift in itself and in the collective.
    Some tasks:
    In Summer we prepare the harvest, we prune the orange trees, we process fruits and vegetables, like figgy, tomates, aromatics … We do maintenance and rebuild some structures. In late summer we have the grape harvest and organic wine making process. We host tourists and we prepare experiences in the farm.


    In Autumn we harvest the olives, clean the vineyards' terraces and hills, select and keep seeds and trees of the forest. Prepare the soil in the gardens.

    In Winter (December/January/February) we prepare The garden soil, we plant trees, we clean the hills, we prune the trees.

    In spring, we need help with preparing the vegetable gardens(plant the seeds) and looking after them. Cut the spontaneous plants in the terraces along the vineyards.

    All year around:
    Feed the animals, keep them clean, healthy and happy, be with the donkeys in the vineyards.
    Maintenance (rebuilding, painting, carpentry, building walls...);
    Housekeeping;
    Help with our Tourist Lodge (clean, welcome guests,...);
    Taking care of the soil in the gardens;
    Farmkeeping;

    Very important issue: we need some people with skills related with carpentry, electricity, energy, watering systems. One of our big goals at the moment is to rebuild a house to host volunteers and artists. We need help.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Portugués: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I want to learn more French and Spanish

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The Workawayers House - Rooms with two single beds, so you might have to share with another workawayer, but never happens. This is a house that has also a kitchen you can use, bathroom with hot water. The housekeeping is to be organised amongst all the workawayers.

    We are not vegetarian but we DO NOT eat meat and we don't provide it either.

    We will arrange to pick you up from the train station in REGUA.

    The farm is located about 8km from Regua and 3 km from the nearest village. It is in a remote location and there isn't any public transportation.

    On Sundays we are available to drive you to Regua so you can travel to other locations if you wish to do so.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    100 km from Porto (airport, trains and buses with connections everywhere)
    8 km from Peso da Régua (closest city) with train and bus station. Here you can visit Museu do Douro or enjoy a river cruise. (If you travel by train from Porto it's an extremely beautiful journey)
    15 km from Pinhão with one of the most visited train stations in Portugal.
    20 km from Lamego one of the oldest cities of Portugal.
    30 km from Vila Real one of the most populated cities of this region.
    70 km from Viseu the city in Portugal that is considered to have the most life quality.
    70 km from Vila Nova de Foz Coa - Parque Arqueologico do Vale do Coa - you can't miss it.
    All these cities have a great urban, artistic and architectonical heritage.
    Around our farm there are many farms you can visit and get involved with the region's lifestyle.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The internet in the farm usually works easy but sometimes, not very often, it goes slowly. We had before digital nomads and any complain.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 days per week; 5 hours a day

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.9)






























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 766388172932