Help in our avocado orchard and with some house renovations in Whangarei, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

422 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    114  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/03/2021

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi,
    We have a 2 ha avocado orchard on the outskirts of Whangarei.
    Sorry about the photo, it's the only one I could find with us all together! We are a family of four but the eldest daughter is away living in Auckland. The younger is studying in Whangarei.

    We currently have some carpentry, some tree management, and always some weeding and mowing. A serious clean wouldn't do the house any harm either


    We prefer workawayers to cook for themselves in the flat . It also solves any problems with food allergies and preferences :-))
    But sometimes it's also nice to share a meal and a game of cards or whatever.
    We are happy for people to work 3 hours a day if you are providing your own food and have your own transport. Or I can provide the food and you cook it yourselves for working 4-5 hours a day. There are unlimited avocados in season, and produce from the garden is seasonal.
    The accommodation is a self contained two bedroom flat separated from our house.
    We are pretty easygoing about when you do the working hours, some times the jobs are enjoyable and you don't notice time flying by, other jobs a few hours is enough and that's fine too. Within reason we leave you to work out when you feel like working to make up the hours.
    Some times there are jobs to work together, some times I will let you know what needs doing and leave you to it.
    If you have any particular skills I tend to try to find the job most likely to be the most productive .

    Perfectly happy for you to work longer hours some days and then have more days off to explore the area. Don't mind whether it's week days or weekends or what time of day you want to start. You are, after all, on holiday!
    There are easy walks to do around bush and coast within easy reach of town or the Bay of Islands is just over an hours drive north. Waipu cave system is half to one hour south.
    Whatever works is all good.

    It's handy to have a car as we are 5km from kamo village.
    However I do go back and forth regularly, and can easily give you a ride in my car.
    If bus-sing catch the bus to Kamo, not The Hub.

    we have wifi available, it isn't great, it's a rural line, not fibre but it does work
    we are not smokers and are not happy to have any smoking around the accommodation or the orchard.

    Happy to have individuals, couples or families with children.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    we try to be as gentle on the earth as we can be so use organic growing methods wherever possible.
    It would be wonderful to be self sustaining but that is unrealistic at this point. We have been on the property for two years now, it was virtually abandoned when we took over so it has been a lot of hard work to get it back to a manageable state and planting many trees besides the existing avocados. It is now almost there and so there is maintenance work and we are now able to develop new areas and ideas.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There is a variety of work including renovations in addition to the orchard work of picking and packing avocados, weeding, mowing, spreading compost, digging and planting out vege gardens etc. There is always cleaning to do if that's your preference. We have a LOT of windows. There is always plenty to do!
    Always happy to have qualified arborists, often carpentry work available, and then there is all the ongoing horticultural work of planting, weeding, mulching etc.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    self contained two bedroom flat with most of the mod cons :-)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    we have the tutukaka coast nearby with the wonderful poor knight islands for diving and snorkelling trips.
    we have a lot of coast line on the east coast, with absolute stunning beaches and lovely short and long walks.
    the bay of islands is accessible for a long day trip or overnight easy trip.
    same time to the waipoua forest with the kauri trees and bush walks.
    whangarei township has everything you could need altho it is not a big city.
    there is a strong international sailing community which sits out the cyclone season from nov to may so there is the chance to get crewing work up to the islands if that is of interest. most international boats leave between april and june.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    any size, we have lots of room :-)

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    we have no animals on the property at present so any animals are fine but I am assuming dogs would be the only one likely to visit. :-)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. 3 hrs a day if harder physical work is involved. k

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicación: (4.9)










































































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 763943224416