Come and help with our project in the Esperaza Aude, South of France

Country

Francia

152 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/06/2022

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am Glenn and my wife is Joe, we have two young boys (age 8 and 12) who were homeschooled while we travelled and we now live in a beautiful area in south east france. We have 2 hectares of land and try a few animals.

    We left our smallholding in Wales seven years ago to travel in Europe. We were workaway hosts in north Wales for some time where we kept various animals. We now find ourselves in rural France, and in the process of setting up our next smallholding venture. We would appreciate some help to do this and are keen to host and introduce workawayers to our way of life.

    Our plans here are to build another yurt base, a compost toilet, outdoor kitchen and prepare another garden. We are also making a wood burning shower and an earth oven.
    There is always plenty to do, feeding and tending to the animals. We have donkeys which need walking and they will haul wood from the forrest, geese, ducks, chickens and rabbits.
    Gardening, we grow and eat all of our own vegetables so plenty to do there. Collectting firewood, and foraging is something we try to do as much as we can, olives, nuts , fruit etc.
    The weather is usually lovely and we try to go for a swim most days to the rivers, pools, hot springs or to the med.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travellers can learn about off grid living, setting up a smallholding, wind and solar power, animal husbandry, join us in learning French, learning about local history.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for help in the garden (weeding digging over etc), help with the animals, collecting fire wood, den building, fencing, getting water from the well and general jobs around the place.
    There is plenty of physical work. We plan to build houses for animals and a shed, from recycled materials.
    We dont need help with cooking but find it interesting for others to share their knowledge and skills in the kitchen.
    Help to build a clay oven.
    We offer food and accommodation in return for 5 hours per day

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    To clarify a few points, we ask for 5 hours help per day, for 5 days per week in exchange for three meals on the days you help. Accommodation would be in a yurt we have a solar shower, compost loo, our washing water comes from our well and drinking water from a local source. We accept people in campers or live in vehicles.
    We are happy to cook however love to share ideas and other peoples' cooking!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The area we live in is steeped in history, there are many Cathar sites and castles to visit. We are reasonably close to the Medieval city of Carcassonne. There are lots if things to do, whether your interests lie in swimming, hiking, cycling, kayaking, visiting historical sites, visiting the beach (only an hour and a bit to the Mediterranean with good public transport links) and skiing in the winter. There are vineyards, markets, stunning countryside, gorges, rivers. The list is endless. We like to encourage our visitors to explore independently and will do our best to show you round too.

    We live on the outskirts of a village, which is within walking distance. There are various services there, pharmacy, boulangerie, bars etc

    Our closest airport is Carcassonne

    I must stress, this is a very rural area and there is minimal access to nightlife, but there is a bar in the village.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours max




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 761217517845