Permaculture cheese farm in the Serra of Monchique, Portugal

Country

Portugal

404 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    17  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    465

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Located in the beautiful Serra de Monchique. We run our farm along Permaculture lines.

    We are: Tom and Monique; Oxford our dog, Tobias the cat, 8 chickens, the goats & our buck Boris and their kids.

    At the moment we are building a small scale goat dairy business on our homestead. Would you help us with our building activities? Or help us in our vegetable garden? Or process oranges and lemons? Then we are looking for you!

    We will ask you to be dedicated to the job and fully engaged in our farms live. You can experience what it is like to live on a small scale farm.

    It will be an ideal opportunity for those who want to start their own small scale farm.

    Please read everything first before you apply. And let us know what motivates you to want to come to our farm. Please be honest with us and we will be honest with you so we’ll become a match :)

    An excellent physical condition is a must. The farm is located on a steep slope which you will have to walk up and down.

    A good working spirit and a sense of humor is important to us. The work is well organised and thought and lived through. The jobs will be clearly explained. Taking our explanation to your heart, taking initiative and being responsible for the job is important to us so you will be able to do the job by yourself.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are two Dutch people that moved into the Serra de Monchique some 11 years ago. Tom works in Holland at the moment. It would be very interesting to hear from you where you come from and what your adventures in life are. We like a chat and exchange experiences.

    There is a lot to learn on the farm just by doing things and being here. How much and what will depend on the experience that you already have & what you would like to learn. You are welcome to join us and enjoy your time here with us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    These will be the tasks we want you to ask to do for us:
    Building activities:
    We are currently busy getting our dairy production legalized. For this we are contracting a bathroom, a little hall and a pergola. It involves working with cement, tiling, some concrete work and woodwork. Possibly some welding.

    Gardening and processing fruit and vegetables:
    We have two vegetable garden and a berry patch. The work here comes mainly down in weeding and soil care. Good soil is the basis of our garden. The vegetables are harvested and eaten or processed when we have a lot. That means: canning, making cordials, dehydrating and other means of preserving food.

    Cooking:
    Cooking and keeping the kitchen clean. We will ask one of you to cook one simple meal for lunch with local ingredients during the week days. We use our own eggs, goat meat, vegetables and cheese for making meals. We have herbs in the garden near the house and a cupboard full of spices. We do not do special diets like vegan or raw food. We do not have the budget to provide a healthy meal on that level. But we do like creative and international cooking with little means.

    We ask you to help for 25 hours a week for 5 days a week.

    The serra is a beautiful spot to volunteer. Your weekend can be spend in the mountains and at the see. However we will ask you not to come here for just that but be sure you will be able to enjoy the hard work on the farm in the first place.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Portugués: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We will offer you a nice and reliable place to stay. Living in the farmhouse as part of the family during the working hours. For you we have a strawbale house to stay in. Blankets, sheets and towels are provided. There is a roofed outdoor kitchen and a semi outdoor bathroom with WC, sink and a shower with hot and cold water. The kitchen is fully equipped. When it's colder you can stay in the strawbale house with stove.

    The farm house will be open from 9.30 until 21.00 during weekdays, we will kindly ask you to respect our privacy during the hours that the house is not open.

    We will lunch and have supper all together. The main meal will be at lunchtime. For supper we mostly have soup and bread or leftovers from the lunch.

    We will have three meals a day together: breakfast, lunch and dinner, and there are simple tea breaks in between. We will ask you to take care of the meals for some days in the week. This includes leaving behind a clean kitchen and table.

    There will always be plenty of tea, water cordial to drink, you can serve yourselfs. There might be someone who makes a cake, but there is no guarantee . For the rest of the snacks, drinks etc. you have to take care yourself.

    We have only a very limited internet available through a very expensive satellite connection. Since we need this for the farm and the farm business we would kindly ask you to use your own internet. There is no connection available in the strawbale house, but there is a G4 connection on the top of our land. For some providers there is a connection near the farmhouse.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We do not have a mobile phone reception but you can contact us through Whatsapp and Telegram.

    From our site there is a free bus to Monchique three times a week. From there it is possible to go anywhere. Hitch hiking seems to work as well. There is a lot to visit in the Algarve. Besides beaches there a cultural events in the summer.
    The serra de Monchique is famous for its footpath. You do not need to go anywhere for a good walk, you can just start at our site.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a space for campervans at the top of our land. It has a beautiful view over the mountains. Water has to be taken there from the valley with our car. There is no electricity. Just a beautiful quiet place with a nice view.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours maximum a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 748999847833