Learn about dog mushing, be part of our family and explore Anchorage, Alaska, USA

  • Estados Unidos
  • 289 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 3 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas



  • Descripción


    We (Debora and Nevin) live in a hillside home overlooking Anchorage, Alaska. We have a small unique sprint sled dog kennel - unique because our 12 dogs live in the city and are truly part of the family!

    Debora is the trainer/racer and works from home. She participates in both dryland events and snow events. Nevin is retired and "tinkers" in the shop or travels to visit family. Our life varies between seasons. Summer is more relaxed - lots of gardening, yard work, and projects, while fall and winter is more dog related (training and racing) plus shoveling snow, lol. We have a dry cabin that we retreat to to train dogs, kayak, fish, or simply enjoy the quiet. Come explore Alaska and all it has to offer: hiking, fishing, biking, dog sledding, snowshoeing, skiing, etc...

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience Alaska and it's beauty first hand. Learn about sled dogs and the northern lifestyle. Explore wilderness adventures!

  • Ayuda


    We are welcoming an independent, enthusiastic, flexible person. Summer and spring/fall/winter months are very diffferent in Alaska! However, generally, you would learn about our small sprint sled dog team: cleaning, feeding, loving, training, etc... . In addition we are always working on household and general "projects". There may be times when you would house-sit all or some of the dogs while one or both of us travel.

    Debora competes in dryland races in the fall (so runners and bikers are welcome) and snow events in the winter (any cross country skiers out there?)! The schedule is flexible and we have had good luck with students in the past.

    We prefer folks that can stay for longer periods of time!

    More details on seasonal activities:
    Summer: Are you an avid gardener? Weeds grow well in the land of the midnight sun. :) Between planting seedlings in March to harvest in summer - Oct, we do a lot of gardening (weeding)! This is also the time to hike, bike, SUP, etc... Summer is very flexible!
    Sept/Oct: Dryland training and race season has begun! We train and compete at events. Runners can try canicross with the dogs! :)
    Winter: Yes, the rest of the year. :) The snow dictates training / racing. You'll have opportunities to travel to races or stay behind with the retired dogs.

    Due to COVID we are requiring proof of vaccination. Medical insurance is also a must.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Single room, "shared" bath, full access to the entire house, WIFI. We also have a dry cabin in Willow, AK that we frequent. You can cook for yourself or join us for meals - your preference. Non smokers only please.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our kennel is unique as it is located within Anchorage. You'll therefore have access to both the city but can be remote within minutes of our home. Anchorage is a very active community (both summer and winter). Hiking, biking, ski trails, downhill skiing are all within minutes from our home.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Digital Nomads welcome! Unlimited WIFI

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Volunteer hours varies -we are open to different arrangements. (Max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 739933916256

Comentarios (6)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help with some artistic projects in Ojo Sarco, New Mexico, USA
Help with various property maintenance, repair, updating and outdoor projects in Omaha, Nebraska, USA