Join our small school camp in Horta de Sant Joan, Catalonia, Spain



501 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción



    Hi! We are a family who runs a small school camp for children and teens and we are looking for activity leaders. But, first of all, we need you to speak Spanish! If you don't, please search for another Workaway. Our kids don't speak English at all and they struggle if they cannot explain you some things.

    We are looking for responsible and enthusiastic people who want to share their culture, their interests and their respect for the world.

    Our kids come in different school groups so we may play one day with 16 year old teens and another day with 3 year old kids. But all the activities have one important thing in common: they don't encourage competition nor violence.

    The ones you will meet first are us: my father Jordi, our dog Duc and me and my partner, Júlia & Jordi.
    We speak Catalan, Spanish, English and a bit of French and a bit of Italian (and we are always ready to learn new words and expressions from you and your native language!).
    Apart from that, we are 8-10 people in the team and each one comes depending of the day and the activities.

    I would like to add that all of our activities are also related to the individual creativity and autonomy. I'm in love with Summerhill way to "teach" kids and I really believe in the dialogue, wheter you are a kid or an adult. Everyone deserves our trust even in the hard moments so I won't never let anyone to apply a punishment or to speak badly to someone else.

    Si hablas español, tienes experiencia con niños/as/es y no entiendes el inglés, envíame un mensaje :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you come to Catalonia, we will do our best to show you some of the most known places, but the best things you will find around our place are the peace and nature that surround us.
    You will discover a small village called Horta de Sant Joan and really awesome rivers plenty of life. You will feel like Picasso, when he came here at the age of 19, plenty of energy and prepared to discover a different rural culture.

    Here, you can practice Spanish and Catalan. Kids will also love to explain you things in their Spanglish (a mix between Spanish and English) or to show you what they know about the nature, our culture... Be ready to listen a looot of exciting stories ;)

    We think it's a good opportunity for you to see a different way of interaction with kids: neither competition nor violent games nor punishments. You will be surrounded by joy, songs, clues games and the sense of community.

    Aaaand finally, you will have to tell us what you like the most. So we can think as a team how to convert your interests into an activity for the children (if you are OK with it, of course). We are completely sure that this will make you and the kids enjoy even more the stay in our camp :)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda


    We need you to:
    --> Be from 21 to 31 years old
    --> To speak Spanish or Catalan (to be able to interact with the kids and the monitors, many of them don't speak English)
    --> To be independent from other monitors. So, if you are alone with 10 kids for a moment, you need to know how to deal with it
    ---> To be creative: we can get different materials to prepare many activities but we want to make kids live new and original experiencies, so please think about games related to your culture, your language... :) (We are not teachers, we act more like "big brothers and sisters" with them, so it's better to think about funny dances, gymkhanas, interesting skills you have... ).
    ---> To be very polite: kids are learning from you from the moment they arrive. So you have to be clean, polite and mature enough to play with them without letting them 'hesitate' you. Apart from that, we are always explaining what are we doing to their teachers, so we have to know how to be respectful and patient with them too.

    All the activities programs are already designed but we are very very lucky because our job lets us improvise and add new cool ideas around different hours of the day. Kids come with their schools for 1 to 3 days at the most. The kids and the teachers are 24h with us so it's pretty easy to get along with them.

    IMPORTANT NOTE 1: You will have lots of free time and all our surroundings are nature so please be aware of it.
    In lots of places is hard to arrive without car and sometimes we are not able to bring you there. You have to know how to enjoy your own free time.
    Apart from that, we can give you books, yoga mats, ideas about what to see... :)

    IMPORTANT NOTE 2: We respect everyone's choices, vaccinated or not, vegan or non vegan, one religion or another, etc. So please, come here also with respect for us and for all the other monitors and their personal choices.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Catalan: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    You will be in a shared mixed room. Both boys and girls sleep in the same place. The room has its own bathroom but you will be able to use the toilets and the showers of the hostel too.
    I'll always try to host two workawayers at the same time so you can be friends and have a nicer time during the workaway.

    Everyday you will have home-cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner. Typical recipes of our region include meat, vegetables and fish but we are open and happy to cook for vegans and vegetarians too!

    We try to eat organic products as much as we can so if you have knowledge about gardening vegetables and fruits we will be so glad to learn with you!

    And last but not least: the stay in our hostel will be between from 7 to 20 days.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    When you are not working you can spend your free time at our garden or just walking around our surroundings.
    My father, my partner and me are always going around with the car so we can combine your free time with our trips to help you discover more places such as Barcelona, Lleida, Tortosa, Tarragona...

    It's a bit hard to move around with public transport but we will help you as much as we can (there's a bus that connects different villages).
    If you are curious about what you will find here, search this:

    Horta de Sant Joan
    Parc Natural Els Ports
    Reus (you can discover the art of Gaudí, as well as in Barcelona)
    Tarragona (and Tarraco, most known part of the city)
    Via Verda (an old train rail which is now an easy bike route) and La Fontcalda (a river connected to Via Verda)
    Riu Estrets (Estrets river)
    Correfocs and Castellers (very typical in Catalonia on Summer months)
    La Jota (very typical in Horta de Sant Joan on Spring and Summer months)
    Delta de l'Ebre

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good connection of wifi all around the house. All of our family members work from home so we have different cozy plazes to work.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a private part of the house where we all park our cars. It's part of the garden so it's close from what will be your room :)

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We actually have a dog and we love to know people who come with pets. Even so, cats can be quite complicated because our dog is good and patient but loves to run after them

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    From 4 to 8 hours, and from 3 to 5 days per week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 739865133726