Vineyard and orchard in peaceful Somerset, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

787 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    31  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Gill and James have a small vineyard and cider orchard on the edge of the Somerset Levels near Wells and need some help with a few projects.

    On the farm we have an old hillside orchard which has become overgrown. We are looking for help to restore it.
    The work involves cutting down brambles and scrub, collecting and stacking firewood, repairing fences and planting apple trees.
    If like us you enjoy spending time outside in orchards and woodland in all weathers working hard on a really worthwhile restoration project, we would love to hear from you.

    We also need help with our vegetable garden and polytunnel.
    Our aim is to have something to eat from the garden all year round. This will involve sowing seeds and planting out seedlings, digging, weeding and watering and collecting the fruit and veg.
    We love cooking with our own produce and enjoy meal times where everyone is involved in preparing and sharing meals we have made and ingredients we have grown together.

    We live in an old farmhouse which needs some decorating and general maintenance and we would love some help with this, as we never seem to find time to do it.

    We have a young Chocolate Labrador, who needs lots of exercise. Bella would love extra walks and games!

    You will not be required to help with the business.
    Our offer is to help for five days, five hours a day in exchange for food and accommodation.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Improve your English and understanding of English culture. Have an insight into the workings of an English vineyard and cider farm. Have a chance to visit and learn about the culture and history of Wells, Bath, Bristol and Glastonbury. Enjoy the amazing countryside of the Somerset Levels.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help in the Vegetable garden and Polytunnel. Gathering and stacking firewood. Dog walking. Help in the house.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be accommodated either in a small caravan on our land or in the guest room in the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The vineyard is in peaceful Somerset countryside, being on the edge of the Mendip Hills and the Somerset Levels, with Wells and Glastonbury within a few miles. This is also an area rich in heritage, located just outside the historic city of Wells, one of England's smallest cities,with its beautiful buildings, cobbled streets and an old market place, where there is a large farmer's market held on Wednesday morning.The Cathedral and the Bishop's Palace are well worth a visit. Glastonbury with it's Tor, Abbey and quirky high street are a few miles away, within cycling distance.
    Bath and Bristol are only a forty five minute drive away, ( buses go regularly from the Wells bus station).

    Workaways are welcome to borrow our bikes to cycle around the countryside, taking in spectacular views of the nearby Mendip Hills and Somerset Levels. If you're into walking, there are many scenic walks in the Mendips, including Ebbor Gorge and Deer Leap near the village of Priddy and wetland walks at Westhay nature reserve on the Levels, both accessible by bike. Throughout the winter months (Dec-Jan) you can visit Ham Wall nature reserve to watch starling murmurations. We have OS maps that you're more than welcome to borrow to find your own walks around the lanes and fields surrounding our farm, there's lots to discover! If you're lucky enough to bring a car with you, there are some beautiful National Trust properties not too far away by car, including Stourhead and Montacute House.

    Although Wells is small, there's always something going on, whether it be the annual Somerset Carnival that passes through Wells one weekend in November, the Literary Festival in October or the Wells Food Festival (where we have a stall) in early October. During the summer there are outdoor theatre productions in the grounds of the Bishop's Palace and throughout the year there are free weekly classical music concerts at the Wells Cathedral School Cedar's Hall. Wells Cathedral is stunning and visitors are more than welcome to attend daily Evensong services in the evening to hear the beautiful voices of the Wells choristers, it's definitely something you should do at least once during your time near Wells!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Flexibility required, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 738918135787