Family farm and nursery near the beach practicing organic permaculture on the Sunshine Coast, Australia

Country

Australia

actualizado  

482 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    39  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a friendly family farm and horticultural nursery 8 minutes from the beach on the Sunshine Coast.

    We are accepting Workawayers who have their own self-container camper-van, motorhome, or similar.

    From February, we will once again be offering our Workaway bunkroom that sleeps up to three people.

    There is a shared kitchen.

    We are a safe place to be during any lockdowns.

    We are Ed, and parents Angela and David, and are looking for help from people already in Australia. We have 42 acres of bamboo groves, gardens, nursery, orchards, and rewilded areas.

    We particularly welcome Workawayers with interests in planting and horticulture, engineering, building, and construction.

    As well as physical tasks on the property, we also welcome photography, videography, and online contributions.

    We are focusing on native re-vegetation, bamboo, vegetables, and fruit. We follow organic, biodynamic and permaculture principles, and are setting up for syntropic growing.

    We appreciate help five days a week, for five hours/day usually Wednesdays to Sundays, although we are flexible for any commitments :)

    Our property has solar electricity generation, twice-filtered harvested rainwater, and waste systems, so you'll learn about living sustainably.

    The nearby towns of Yandina and Coolum Beach are both about 8 minutes away by car. From there, you can explore the whole of the Sunshine Coast. We are about 25 minutes from Noosa Heads. There are beautiful national parks, state forests, mountains and waterfalls nearby.

    The nearest bus station is Coolum Beach. The nearest train station is Nambour. The nearest airport is Sunshine Coast.

    We do a lot of different things on the farm including fruit trees, vegetables, bamboo, holiday accommodation, and always have a number of projects on the go, including carpentry, concreting, erecting a barn, fencing, irrigation, planting, and hope to do more building with bamboo. We have miniature pigs, poultry including chickens, guineafowl and peacocks, and friendly dogs.

    We love people who will have a go at everything and work hard, with a good sense of humour.

    We provide you with free range eggs, fruit, veggies and herbs from the gardens and orchards, and a stocked vegetarian kitchen.

    We also provide laundry facilities, wifi, an outdoor exercise/play frame, and yoga mats.

    We are near the Mount Ninderry Healing Centre which offers reasonably priced acroyoga, bodywork, courses and therapist programmes, intention therapy, kirtan, and shiatsu, yin and flow yoga, with free community yoga classes once a week.

    We look forward to welcoming you :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our family is originally from Devon in the southwest of England, where we created and operated Theme Parks
    & Resorts.

    We have travelled a lot - Ed has also Workawayed in South America, Israel, and Europe. We emigrated to Australia and have lived on the Sunshine Coast since 2011. We like time in the country, going to the beach, waterfalls, and national parks. We love meeting new people from all over the world :)

    We wish you happy travels :)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking to accept Workawayers who have a real interest in our projects which include:
    - carpentry projects and construction including working with Bamboo
    - gardening including bamboo propagation, brush-cutting, composting, harvesting, mowing, mulching, planting, repotting, strimming ("whipper-snipping") and watering.
    - maintenance including painting and repairs

    We are currently building a barn, including laying the concrete slab and digging additional dams.

    There is a sizeable and varied fruit orchard with more than 100 trees, and over 1000 bamboo planted, which we need help maintaining. We also have vegetable beds to increase how much we are eating from the farm. We continue to plant more native trees, and propagate more bamboo.

    You will need sensible working boots and a hat, which we can provide if necessary. We recommend bringing sunscreen, and also boots and wet weather gear if you come in the rainy season.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We speak English, Spanish, and French.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    If you have a self-container vehicle or camper-van, we have room for you to park and can provide access to solar power, harvested filtered rainwater, wifi, laundry facilities, and you can share the kitchen.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our farm is between two mountains and close to the beach. There are many lovely beaches, country towns, national parks, state forests, and waterfalls around, great rock climbing, watersports, horseriding and hiking. Our family also operates the Flow Bouldering gym nearby and we can arrange discounted membership and day passes. There is also a good cinema nearby.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good wifi for digital nomads.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We welcome Workawayers who have their own self-contained campervan or motorhome, and have beautiful spaces in the bamboo grove.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Well behaved quiet and friendly animals welcome. No barking. Note, we have dogs, poultry and pigs on our property.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)



























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 729697784963