Come and join our energetic, creative, food-loving family in the dynamic town of Frome, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

56 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a bustling, loving family of four - Robbie, Sarah, Edith and Ewan. We are open-minded, passionate and creative. Both Robbie and I travelled extensively before having children. These experiences shaped us and we miss the dynamism and energy travelling brings. That is why we want to warmly welcome travellers into our home. After two years of isolation we are keen to learn from different cultures.

    We both work four days a week, I am a fundraiser for a social mobility charity. Robbie is a film-maker and entrepreneur. He is currently working for a live drone show company who are based in our home-town.

    Robbie, a proud Scotsman, is passionate about politics, the environment and circular economies. I also coach women and social entrepreneurs. We own two acres of woodland in East Devon and are music, art and film lovers.

    Our children - Edith, 8 and Ewan, 5 are energetic, fun, curious and kind - a bit like us! Edith currently loves sport, Harry Potter, hairbands, chocolate, hugs and learning. Ewan currently loves lego, running, laughing, cartoons, Pokemon and anything new.

    We are flexible on help arrangements and happy for you to do 5 hours a day or, do longer days and take more days off where that works for us. Usually we'll be looking for help Monday to Friday but are flexible.

    Being able to speak good English is essential so that you can understand my children and they can understand you. Please only apply if your English is good enough for you to be understood. Calm and easy-going with a can-do attitude are best for us and good communication skills are essential. Please email in English.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a wonderful town called Frome, in the heart of Somerset. Somerset is famous for it's stunning countryside, cider and Glastonbury Festival. Frome is a culture hot-spot, voted the best place to live in the UK two years in a row. A special place full of talented people who are doing interesting things (artists, musicians, writers, poets and craft-people). I recently looked at one of the community noticeboards and saw advertisements for a woman's writing course, a course in non-violent communication, an invitation to spend time with the town's mayor and Thai Chi lessons - to give you a flavour.

    It has lots of independent shops, a music venue, cafes, skateboard park, restaurants, cinema and monthly market which attracts people from across the South West. Google Frome Festival - ten day festival every July.

    There is history everywhere; 14th Century Nunney Castle is down the road and the Historic city of Bath is 30mins drive. Bath was the backdrop for much of Bridgeton - a recent BBC period drama. Stonehenge is under an hours drive.

    If you are super active there is a canoe club in Frome, an amazing flooded quarry and rivers for wild swimming and/or paddle-boarding, a Bouldering Room 5mins walk from our house, fishing spots, Cheddar Gorge to go potholing. And many stunning country walks with traditional English pubs round every corner. The beach is an 1hr and a half drive.

    If you need time in a big city, Bristol is one of the UK's finest and is an hour away by train from Frome. You can also travel directly by train from Frome to London for that Metropolis hit! I was born in London and lived there for 40 years and would be delighted to help plan your trip should you wish to go.

    Living with us you might learn about; family life, charity development, circular economies, green energy, meditation, spirituality, female empowerment, coaching, child development.

  • Au pair

    Ayuda au pair

    This host is looking for an au pair in the UK

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with the following:

    Our children - We are going to need some help with childcare over the summer holidays (July and August). We have arranged various clubs but there are still entire days without any plans so will need our workaways to relish the company of small people and be good at creating fun adventures!

    There will also be times when the kids need picking up from school or holiday clubs, so a driving licence will be needed - we can explore putting you on our car insurance. And if there is time left over and everyone feels good about it, we'd love support with babysitting so we can go out and have time just the two of us.

    Our stomachs - We are both passionate about food, especially food from around the world. It would be amazing if our travellers wanted to get into the kitchen and cook for us on a regular basis. And we look forward to cooking for you.

    Our home - We love our home but it could do with a coat of paint now the kids are a little older. And our garden has lots of potential but needs some time and energy spent on it.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our home is a new build on the edge of Frome with stunning views of the countryside. It is on three floors: The main living area with kitchen and sitting room is on the first floor, we live on the top floor and our travellers will have the ground floor to themselves. On the ground floor there is a double bedroom and a small private shower room with a toilet. The room has a desk, double bed and storage. The window looks out onto the front of the house. The ground floor also has a garage and a subterranean storage room. Our guests would be welcome to use the garage as their own private entrance. We have a modest garden that back onto fields that you can access. A short walk across these fields and you reach a wonderful river walk.

    It will be very private but it won't always be peaceful I'm afraid! This is because the walls and ceilings are thin. When we wake up in the morning you will hear us walking around in the kitchen above you and we aren't brilliant at being quiet!

    It is a 10/15mins walk into the centre of town. We have fantastic neighbours - we all got to know each other well during the pandemic.

    Robbie and I don't eat breakfast but give the kids breakfast together - usually coffee (for us!) toast, eggs and cereal - which you would be welcome to join. We eat as a family every night at around 5.30pm/6pm. You would always be welcome to join us. We are trying really hard to stick to vegetarian food but are flexible. We all try really hard to sit down together but often people will get up and wander around during meals. It just seems to be the way we are!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are lots of workaways in Frome making it part of the town's culture and easy to meet other travellers.

    Further ideas for things to do in and around Frome;

    1. Longleat House - safari park
    2. Hauser and Wirth - art gallery
    3. Glastonbury Tor - sacred site
    4. The Newt - high end garden and destination
    5. Marston Park - Festival experience on permanent site

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We are fortunate to live in a home with lots of space. Robbie and I frequently work from home; there would be 3 desks to pick from when working from home - kitchen, sitting room and traveller's room. When I work from home I work from a desk in our bedroom. Robbie works in film so has to be able to transfer large files quickly, therefore we have the best broadband on the market. Our connection is excellent.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We would be willing to accept any pets. As long as they are house trained. Honestly, I would find it hard to stay relaxed if I'm having to clean up after an animal in my home.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 725821261351