Come and help on our off-grid finca in Tarragona, Spain

Country

España

118 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    161

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a British couple who live off grid on a finca, 1,5km outside of a small rural Catalan village in the Tarragona region.

    This is a beautiful area, the village is set on the banks of the Riu Ebré and is within walking distance of the finca. There are daily bus links to the local town 6km away, and rail links to Tarragona and Barcelona.

    The whole area has fantastic views of the mountains and is ideal for hiking or mountain biking, the nearest beach is only 30 minutes drive away.

    We love the Mediterranean lifestyle, we love cooking and eating good food.

    Our aim is to be as self sustainable as possible, by growing our own food using organic, bio intensive and permaculture practises and by trading surplus with others.

    We keep bees, using natural methods, producing edible comb honey. We keep hens too and hope to have goats in the future.

    We have a large vegetable garden that needs weeding, watering and harvesting daily.

    Also we have lots of almond and olive trees which we harvest and prune annually in August and November.

    Also we have a variety of other fruit and nut trees.

    We are also in the process of making a forest garden, using permaculture practises.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will experience living in a traditional finca living off grid, in a rural area of Catalunya.

    Our first language is English, but you will be able to mix with local people who speak Catalan and Spanish.

    There are lots of festivals in the village and surrounding area throughout the year, including the annual cherry festival at Miravet in June and the Castellers in Tarragona in September.

    The area offers lots of sporting opportunities, such as walking and hiking, kayaking and cycling and big game fishing.

    The area has fantastic wildlife, especially for those interested in bird watching.

    You will learn how to grow and harvest food organically using bio intensive and permaculture practises. How to harvest almond and olive crops, as well as how to cook, preserve and store food for future use.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would like help to repair and rebuild the drystone walls on our terraces.

    To clear an area to build a compost toilet and shower block and living area for a new space for workaways.

    Gardening, tending the vegetable plot, planting, weeding, watering and harvesting vegetables.

    Harvesting of almonds and olives at certain times of the year.

    Grass cutting and land clearance.

    Plus general help around the funds.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Since first posting our accommodation has changed.

    We are in the process of designing and building an earthen lodge.

    But in the mean time the accommodation we now able to offer is a large tent, with air beds, all bedding and towels provided.

    Cooking facilities, and an under cover seating area form part of the accommodation.

    At present, the accommodation is suitable for up to four people.

    We also have a washing machine you are welcome to use.

    There is space to sit outside and a car parking area next to the house.

    It is a short drive or 20 minute walk to the village.

    We would like help five hours a day, five days a week. In return we will provide breakfast and lunchtime meals and drinks on the days you work.

    We specialise in vegetarian and vegan food, although we occasionally eat fish and meat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The village has a number of bars, some serve food, others just drinks, a small shop, mini mart, couple of bakeries, newsagents, post office, and a doctors surgery. During the summer months the beautiful outdoor swimming pool is open.

    There are buses daily, to and from the village to the town.

    If you don't have transport we can take you to the town once a week, to get supplies from the supermarket and also offer you a ride to the coast or other places of interest once a week.

    If you arrive by aeroplane will collect you by car from the local airport at Reus, but if you arrive at Barcelona el Part airport you will be expected to get the train and we will collect you from the local train station at Mora La Nova.

    We have experienced being workaways in the past, however this is our first time as a host.

    We want you to have a fun and enjoyable time, with us and get a feeling of what it is like to live off the land in a simple stress free sustainable way. We love food and cooking and socialising.

    We are looking for energetic, enthusiastic people with or without experience of this type of lifestyle to join us, for short stays of one, two, three or four weeks at a time.

    At this moment we are not offering places to people with children.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 723659624688