Forestry and gardening in a peaceful spot, Santa Cruz da Trapa,Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

83 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live in an oak and chestnut forest and usually have lots of forestry and vegetable gardening jobs to do. It can be hard work and lots of walking/lifting but it's so peaceful and there's plenty of time to relax in nature.

    There's a river nearby for dips as well as an open air wood-fired bath to get clean after a day's work! The land isn't accessible by car (it's a 10-minute walk down a rocky path) which means that it's not advisable to bring down too much stuff - what comes down, must go up! You'll have to take your own rubbish and recycling away with you.

    Our main work right now is watering, collecting goat manure, cutting fire wood and general forestry.
    It'd be great if you have experience using tools such as strimmers, chainsaws and axes, but it's ok if not. (Please indicate when you write to me.)

    In your free time, there's plenty of exploring to do in the valley areas nearby - I'm happy to give you a lift into town when I'm going.

    When you get in touch, please tell m any experience you've had in the past with garden/foresty etc. Also ask any questions you have for us. Look forward to hearing from you! Write in any language you want.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There's the opportunity to learn about gardening and vegetable cultivation as well as experiencing life in a peaceful mountain valley. We were both gardeners as jobs before and we're adapting these skills to forest maintenence (anyone with skills in this, we'd love to learn from you.) We're open to new members of the community and also I'd really like to improve my Portuguese speaking level (I already speak pretty good Spanish and some French, so I'd love to practise these too!)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    *Forest maintenance (strimming, raking, chopping and making wood-piles)
    *Gardening and digging out roots - there are lots of blackberries (silvas) here!
    *Renovation and upkeep of existing structures
    *Making new buildings and renovating the existing one
    *Digging and re-diverting water channels
    *In summer: cleaning out and fixing the water-tank
    *General around the house stuff: cleaning, cooking, chopping wood

    We can find out what your skills and passions are and see how they can be used in daily life here! We work hard but we also love to relax and make our art/personal projects, so we always make plenty of time for this

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante
    Turco: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    It's the best way to connect with people - speak in their own language :)

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Having just moved hethere is a building/hut with a log burner, it's a very basic space.

    We can provide breakfast and one big main meal a day and some snacks throughout the day (this is the way we usually eat). If you prefer to eat a big lunch too you can, you can just prepare it yourself.

    We have a solar panel/battery for charging phones etc. but it's not constant (depends on the sun). So, if you're someone that needs to check their phone a lot it's probably not the right place for you.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your time off you could go walking in the nearby wild mountains or you could go to the nearby small towns. If you have your own transport you could also go to Viseu or Porto if you want a bigger city.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 716565738831

Regala Workaway
leer más

Encuentra a tu anfitrión perfecto