Join our family in Sandgate, near Brisbane, Australia



202 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    We are a fun, friendly family of 2 adults (mid 40's) and 3 children (aged 13, 11 and 9). We have diverse interests, have both traveled extensively ourselves, and love hosting international visitors. We enjoy good food and conversation.

    Pippa works 4 days a week as a paediatric occupational therapist and is very involved in the local community as well as coordinating an organic food buying group. Wayne works as a design assistant at a local university, performs the occasional circus show, and runs a small design studio. We have structured our lives so that we both have the time to enjoy parenting our children which we believe is the most important thing that we can do.

    Our kids, April, Fraser and Erin are fairly easy going and enjoy a wide range of activities including sports, scouting, and playing musical instruments (any help with the piano, flute, cello or violin is always welcome).

    We live in the heart of Sandgate - a village-style suburb north of Brisbane. We are only a 5-10 minute walk to the waterfront, parks, shops, train, bus, cafes, restaurants and bars.

    A few very important things to know...
    Our house is a traditional 'Queenslander', built in 1910. While these houses have a lot of charm, their thin timber walls mean they are not as soundproof as European houses. Our kids wake at around 6AM, so if you are not a morning person this may be difficult for you.

    We appreciate that different people have different dietary needs but we do want to know about these before you arrive.

    Our family home is usually a thriving hub of social activity. It is not uncommon for us to have last minute guests at any time of the day. Dinner time can quickly and unexpectedly turn into a shared meal for 10 people. The dinner table is certainly the heart of our home.

    All of our guests are invited to be part of our family while they are staying with us (we believe that is what Workaway is all about). We also understand that time to yourself is equally important and encourage you to explore the local area as much as possible. We always try to remain flexible as your travel plans and cultural discovery are very important.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Pippa has travelled extensively and is a great cook. Wayne has so many different projects happening that there is always going to be something new to learn. We are quite social so there are always opportunities to be part of Australian family life. This is a great opportunity to become part of an Australian family and experience the modern Australian lifestyle, improve your English and learn some new skills.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    The type of guests that we look for are people who are confident and experienced at running a household. These tasks may include...
    - helping the children as they get ready for school in the mornings
    - taking the kids to the library or the park,
    - prepping / cooking healthy, kid friendly meals,
    - general house cleaning.

    During January and February 2020, what we need the most are people willing to get their hands dirty. After a very busy 2019 the house and garden need a lot of love. There will be painting, minor repair jobs, some gardening and landscaping, and of course a lot of fun with our family. We are happy to host two people at a time.

    Most importantly you will need to...
    - be able to cook
    - be able to be part of our busy family,
    - be tidy and show attention to detail,
    - be motivated, and
    - be able to think for yourself.

    We would expect you to help about 4-5 hours per day on weekdays, in exchange for board and lodging. Occasionally the times may be split into a few hours in the morning and a few in the afternoon. The weekends are your own and we encourage you to explore this wonderful part of the world. We are very flexible with days and hours to enable you to have the best trip that you can. If you want to take a long weekend to go exploring - no problem!

    While you are with us we will provide breakfast (cereals, bread, milk, yoghurt, cheese, tea and coffee), lunch (usually bread / crackers with spreads, cheese, salads), and dinner which we eat together as a family each night.

    While you are part of our family we will invite you to share our family experiences such as parties, camping trips, visiting friends, etc. In turn, we also ask that you share the small responsibilities that come of sharing a house. These include occasional cooking (2-3 times each week) and other general cleaning and tidying such as hanging washing, sweeping the floor, and cleaning up the kitchen after meals. We don’t expect you to do everything by yourself, but to lend a hand with these everyday tasks.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own room in our house with a shared bathroom. Your room will be our 'guest room' which also houses a lot of the kids toys and books. The space will be yours but the kids may need to go in and out once or twice a day to get things or to put them away. The room has one or two single sized beds, depending on the number of guests.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Sandgate is a thriving seaside village in beautiful sub-tropical Brisbane. It has a great community feel, lots of local events and great restaurants, bars and live music. Although the waterfront is tidal sand flats it is a great place for fishing, kitesurfing, stand-up paddle boarding, bike riding, walking or jogging. We have bicycles (and a unicycle) that you are welcome to borrow.

    Brisbane city and Southbank are an easy bus or train trip away. You can even catch the train to the Gold Coast.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours per day 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 715869247648