Siéntete en casa y forma parte de nuestra familia en una isla en las Tierras Altas de Escocia

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

1856 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    76  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Madainn mhath! (Welcome in Gaelic)

    We're Ian and Jess and we live on a small private tidal island connected to the nearby village of Badachro by a floating footbridge.

    We live here with our three lovely children, aged 15 13 and 6

    Ian is the descendent of the ancient Mackenzie clan, whose family has occupied this island since the 18th century!
    Jess is from England and moved up to the highlands to join Ian in continuing his family's legacy of sustainable creel fishing in the surrounding waters.

    We are a lively family always on the move, fishing out at sea, selling our catch at a local market, and hosting visitors in self-catering accommodations on the island.

    Ian and the kids are always dreaming up new projects around the island, and in our free time, we like to interact with our local community playing Scottish music, going on scenic walks and bike rides to the beach to see the rich wildlife around our home.

    We also have a very friendly patterdale terrier called Dubh, Gaelic for black.

    This is a paid position, we will pay minimum wage,but will deduct money for accommodation as this is a live in position all food is included, happy to discuss this with further with potential helpers

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We want you to feel at home and to be a part of our family!

    Many of our Workaway volunteers come to our home to improve their English.

    You will have lots of opportunities to learn not only English, but a diverse range of English accents, from Ian's Scottish, Jess's English, and Gaelic from the kids. (Our two oldest daughters are nearly fluent!)

    Our island also offers a great deal of information about Scottish fishing history, and if you wish, coming out with Ian on the boats to see the fishing industry in the UK from a first-hand point of view.

    Visitors to our Island love learning about the local fishing industry so much that a few years ago we started our business to organize professional fishing tours, which you can also experience with us space and weather permitting. We usually go out for tours during the warmer months.

    Outside the island, there is a vibrant local community that makes the absolute best of a rural environment.

    With weekly Scottish Music jam sessions, a cozy coffee shop, library, community centre, and history museum, there is no shortage of activities to involve yourself with. Ian and Jess and all of the kids are active figures in the community and you will be welcomed as if you were a local yourself. The nearest shops are 5 mins so best to bring your favourie snacks with you
    The local pub, the Badachro Inn is within walking distance.
    We have sit on kayaks and bikes available for your use. There are also lovely walks in the area. The nearest sandy beach is 3 miles away.
    Make sure you bring your swimming costume as you will have a chance to use our guest hot tubs

    You may have the chance of seeing pinemartens, otters and deer.
    Also you will certainly be able to enjoy the fabulous night sky and there is a chance during winter time to see the northern lights

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We're looking for self-motivated, driven individuals to help alongside us in taking care of our island,

    Examples of help are cutting the grass, painting, trimming back wild paths, and of course helping us look after our

    As per the norm with Workaway we ask no more than 5 hours of active help for 5 days a week.

    We are very much an 'around the clock' family so we recommend that Workaways can adapt to a hectic schedule that having a family typically requires.

    We cannot always actively manage our volunteers so especially for the younger travellers it's very important that you do not always wait for us to ask for help, but for you actively seek out projects and help where you know you can be the most helpful.

    Please be prepared to give a helping hand not only during the day but also around mealtimes. We love for Workaways to share with us their recipes from home!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Gaelic (Scottish): Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer our Workawayers a small stunning private bedroom in our home with a beautiful view of the sea.

    Our whole island operates a high-speed wifi connection.

    Of course, we love for our Workaways to share in all meals with us, as well as to feel at home helping themselves to tea and coffee and snacks whenever needed.

    We eat a diverse diet of traditional Scottish food like Ian's famous Mince and Tatties, Jess's British curries, and all the cakes and cookies the girls can dream up.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is no public transport around Badachro but you can arrive by bus to Gairloch via the Westerbus leaving from Inverness.

    We will pick you up in the car when you arrive!

    While you're here you have access to our collection of bikes to get around the area, and we are always commuting to and from nearby Gairloch should you want to hitch rides with us during your free time. We also have 7 seater car and usually have day of on Sunday which could consist oanything from trips north to Ullapool and beyond to the Isle of skye and all points between!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20 to 25 hours a week we try to have 2 days of a week at least one involves a day out with workawayer to explore Scot

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)


















































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 692155785162