Help with some small maintenance and home improvement projects in the hills of Los Angeles, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

992 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    48  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    WE ARE ALL VACCINATED. Are you?


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ WHEN WRITING A REQUEST, PLEASE INCLUDE ANSWERS TO THE 5 questions below. No answers and I can guarantee you won't get a spot.**

    World traveler (60+ countries), Los Angeles born and raised. I believe in getting the most out of wherever you visit and am happy to help you plan your LA visit to do so. A homeowner with a long list of small to large projects.

    QUESTIONS:
    1. Are you vaccinated now? will you be by the time you arrive?

    2 Take a look at a map to see where in Los Angeles I live. LA is a giant spread-out city, and you should know before you arrive where I am. Include a note that you are ok with the location. Home located in the "Encino Hills" area of Los Angeles just off of Mulholland Drive next to the "Upper Canyonback trailhead". This is a scenic, but quiet, residential neighborhood in the Santa Monica Mountains. Hiking trails are 500 meters away. Close to the Getty center (not villa). It's 3+ miles/ 5km away from shops, grocery, coffee houses, bars, restaurants, and public transit stops. CLOSEST BUS STOPS: "Skirball Center" is Southeast or "Havenhurst and Ventura" is North. To see how far you are from anyplace you want to visit, use google maps, these bus stops, and add the walk time.

    3 A bit about what you would like to get out of the experience; language practice, sightseeing, or hobbies, chill at the beach, etc. If in doubt on what to see or do in Los Angeles - include your interests, and I will help you with a free time plan. What are you looking to get from your visit?

    4. Which of my projects you are comfortable with (see list below)?.

    5. I have a bunch of references/reviews/feedback from previous workawayers. If you don't have a bunch, please include a link to some other social media (LinkedIn, Facebook, bewelcome, Servas etc)

    Close to Westwood/UCLA, Beverly hills, etc. Venice and Santa Monica beaches are not too far.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Please include a bit about what you would like to get out of the experience, either language, sightseeing, or hobbies, etc. What are you looking to get from your visit?*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Part of the cultural exchange on a farm or ranch is learning about animal husbandry, growing harvesting, compost etc. I live in a big city - so the cultural exchange here is city life, excursions, outings, ethnic enclaves, and everything the city has to offer. While LA is a big city it is perhaps unique in the fact that there are so many preserved open spaces in addition to the city and beaches.

    My preference is always completing a started project, but after that the choice is yours. Because I have so many projects, you may also choose one that you may learn from or prefer working on.

    I Work in the travel industry (nothing to sell you, I only work with large groups), and am happy to assist in helping you plan your journey. Besides being an expert guide in Los Angeles, I Have been to most states multiple times and can help with road trip ideas, suggestions.

    Have now had 40+ workawayers here - most have been fantastic. Have been out with many of them, doing tourist stuff, showing them local life, hikes, gallery visits, including them in my games nights, parties, bar nights, enjoying ethnic dinners, wine, and scotch tasting, museums, holiday light walks, etc. If I know a bit more about your interests, I will also have a list of free time suggestions for you to make the most of your stay in LA.

    If you are interested, we can cook together, happy to help with English. Happy to share conversations, meals, etc. You may explore the city on your own, or I am happy to show you around on my days off.

    ** I DO NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE WITH VISA APPLICATIONS.**

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Looking for people who can help with one or more of the following. PLEASE INCLUDE WHICH PROJECTS YOU ARE INTERESTED IN WHEN WRITING A REQUEST:*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    I prefer people complete a full day and have full days off to explore the city.

    -Painting outside: Repainting house, trim & retaining walls, including minor wood and stucco patch
    -Digitizing/Scanning old photos into a computer.
    -Trimming shrubbery, and removing Ivy vines from fences. Planting new hedges, etc.
    -Installing drip irrigation
    -Building raised planting beds/ retaining walls.
    -Moving a shed from one side of the house to the other (disassemble and reassemble).
    -Some small pieces of furniture to refinish.

    These projects are best suited to someone with a bit of experience:
    -Sewing drapes
    -re-upholstery of chairs
    -Creative Fence/Privacy screening idea and execution. Something artistic would be great. (Started)
    -Plumbing; sprinklers, and new bathroom fixtures.
    -House painting inside. (half done)
    -Installing wood, tile, and stone floors.
    -Low voltage lighting, installing new electrical outlets and/or fixtures.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    ACCOMMODATION: Private bedroom, Queen bed (152 cm × 203 cm). Sheet and towels provided. Sleeping bags for additional guests. Shared bathroom. House is non-smoking.

    MEALS PROVIDED: Breakfast Daily. Lunch and dinner on workdays only. For example work Monday, explore the city Tuesday and Wednesday - 3 meals on Monday, breakfast Tues and Wed), The house is not vegetarian or vegan - BUT we eat a large quantity of vegetables, and always 2 salads a day. You are free to purchase and cook your own food on free days if you are not out exploring the city,

    PLEASE BRING: Gifts are not necessary. If you are traveling from home, I wouldn't object to a favorite candy, food, wine or liquor that you would share with me. With customs and airline restrictions this may prove challenging or impossible. Sharing a favorite card game or cooking a favorite recipe are equally great gifts. Please, no gift that takes space or needs dusting (no magnets, no model cars, no scarves, etc).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The list of NO's:
    *No smoking inside. Not a fan of smoking outside - I live in a high-risk fire zone.
    *No pets. No kids.
    *No perfume or cologne or other scents. Keep your space need and tidy.
    *I don't drive to the airport -public transit and uber and lift do.

    Spend your time off exploring everything Los Angeles has to offer, try trip adviser for ideas, or email me with your interests.

    3 miles (4.8km) from a bus stop (and any retail stores, coffee house, bar, etc). Uber and Lyft work beautifully, or you may walk. I live in the hills, and some areas do not have sidewalks or streetlights.

    CLOSEST BUS STOPS: "Skirball center" is Southeast or "Havenburst and Ventura" is North. To see how far you are from anyplace you want to visit, use google maps, these bus stops, and add the walk time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Private desk with wifi in your room

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is street parking for van, not motorhome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Work 3 days a week, 8 hour per days. Take 4 days off. Usually you may choose the days.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.9)






























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 689634699251