Help reclaim a jungle farm in Kona Hawaii, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

34 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Reclaiming a jungle farm in Kona Hawaii on a steep hillside and a beautiful view. The shack and the house and the farm all need some loving care, some sweat, without too much blood or tears. It is beautiful and there are lots of tropical foods growing, and it’s also a jungle living experience. We are growing avocados, cacao, bananas, citrus, star fruit, loquat, and more. Any produce off the farm will be eaten, given away to friends, family, coworkers and people in need. I like to have a variety of projects so that Workawayers can choose what best suits their skills. On the project list currently: making the driveway less rutted; power washing then painting; screwing on a new roof to the shack; weed whacking; cleaning.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities abound if you seek them out with humility from the local scene. Of course, anytime you travel to a new place, especially with a different landscape you will learn much. Even if what you learn is that country life is not for you. Ha ha. I’m happy to orient you to lots of opportunities for exploring the local culture and flavor.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Much of the work might be solo unless the second Workaway comes with you for joins you. The first order of business is to make the road more drivable, and the shack more livable so some experience with basic tools is of course a plus. Comfortability with a Weedwhacker would be important as well. I am a waldorf schoolteacher and a parent but I do hope to work alongside of whoever comes from time to time

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a house, that is open to the view, the air and all: think fewer walls, but balcony style railings all around and an amazing view. There is a bedroom upstairs. The road is in need of repair, so at the moment it’s an uphill walk of 4-5minutes. It is well built and in good shape, and not completely finished. There is also a coffee shack, “in-law” tiny house which will become the Workaway quarters eventually. Food staples are included.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I have a car that I rent to travelers from time to time and there are periods when it is already rented, but would consider Workaway use of the car for extra time on the farm, or for pay.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 687585584226