Join our family living in a small village 30 km from Amsterdam, Netherlands



536 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 8 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hello, we are a friendly family living in a small village (Ursem). Our names are Gerard, Rosalyn, Evelyn (11) and Anthony (9). We live in a typical Dutch farmhouse (style only) at the border of the village. In these 'corona times', we offer a relatively remote and therefore safe environment. We see our place as 'away from the crowded Amsterdam and into the heritage of North Holland.' The cities Hoorn and Alkmaar are at biking distance, though and very attractive for a daytrip. Amsterdam can be reached by public transport, though you will need to bicycle a few kms to the nearest bus stop.

    Our premises include a very large garden and grassland with two lovely ponies for our kids. Our house is "climate neutral", we generate 100% of our power usage by solar. We have quite some animals at home: two ponies, two dogs (one of them is a puppy now in late summer 2021) and an old and weary turkey. We are quite sure you'll love them.

    We look primarily for single volunteers, often female and we do host travelling couples. We really need help with domestic (cleaning) work and with mainting the garden, a person just being there for the children when they come home from school and perhaps you can help sometimes with a DIY project of Gerard.

    Workaway travellers will find their stay with us comfortable; you can use our indoor swimming pool and you can use our bicycles to venture around. Your accomodation will be one of our bedrooms in our guest house. The guest house is also being used by a 'longer term guest', a personal friend of us who needs a few months shelter as a result of relationship trouble.

    The infamous Dutch weather is actually quite nice in the countryside, also in autumn and wintertime. It may be a bit windy and rainy on some days but then there's so much to do that you probably won't bother too much, if you really enjoy a small village environment (that means: primarily our yard, field and animals and further the environment that you can bike around or go biking to the nearby cities). Trains to Amsterdam depart every half hour from Hoorn (11 km from our place) and the train takes about half an hour to the Amsterdam city center. You can also go by bus (cheaper); the bus stop is about 9 km from our place.

    You are welcome to join our family over meals and drinks and we love to cook together with you. Without doubt there's a lot we can learn from your (cooking) culture.

    A little bit of background about ourselves; we are both lawyers, running a small law firm in a close-by city. Rosalyn is now primarily dedicated however to her position as a governor/alderman of the municipality.

    Note after four years of experience with workaway guests:
    We note that we do not consider our place as a 'free hotel' (as we have unfortunately learned that some volunteers do). We do expect you to have a pro-active attitude, to help us in a responsible and mature manner with maintaining the place. We do not often give very specific 'orders for the day' but we do monitor whether you give us your help in return for the opportunity of staying with us. We learned that usually the first three days go well, after which inexperienced volunteers 'fall back' in their normal habits (of not doing much really). This is the moment that we may change our opinion about the enthousiasm of the guests to help us - and therefore our enthousiasm about the guests. We then may be pretty direct about that. Obviously we prefer to feel and show gratitude for your help and company.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are very interested to learn from your background and culture and talk with you about ours. We can help you (if you so wish) to explore Amsterdam, where we lived for over 20 years - we recently moved to the countryside. In fact, we developed for our workaway guests a unique tour guide on paper to show you the best spots in Amsterdam, explaining about the historical background. You will also learn a lot about the beauty and history of Holland (i.a. how old windmills still work!).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Refer to the above. Please ask any questions that you may have.

    We are primarily looking for help to keep our house clean (quite a challenge for it is rather big) and for keeping an eye on our kids after school. They have a very independent character though, so you will find that they do not depend on you in their own perspective. They are lovely and sweet children, though.

    You can also help with maintaining our ponies, dogs, cat and turkey, and help with maintaining their places and gardening (i.a. mowing the grass with our little tractor).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Bedroom within our guest house, including a double bed and a bathtub.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Refer to the text above. Please ask any questions that you may have.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Our wifi & internet works perfectly whereas we have glass fiber network. We also have a great working space including a very large table with the best view over the country side.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have enough parking space on our premises for your campervan or car.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you bring a dog with you, it is always uncertain how the dogs go about with each other. We do not accept all types of dogs on our premises, for safety reasons. Please tell us in advance to discuss whether your pet can come with you.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 684761114511