Finca work and hammock relaxing in Guácimo, Limón, Costa Rica

  • Costa Rica
  • 273 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Nuestra finca es única e increíble!

    Small scale, agroecological and family-run in the beautiful Costarican tropics. It aims to work with people from all around the world.
    We have a family of goats, crops to feed them, other crops to feed ourselves, several integrated systems such as composting and biogas, the opportunity to live next to an amazing river and lots of hands-on practice for anyone that wants to learn surrounded by nature, peace, silence and a true experience of organic farming done by Costaricans in Costa Rica.
    We make several products like cheese, jams, and compost and process our own black and white pepper and much more.
    Much can be done and much can be learned if you join us! We invite diverse and divergent caring people from all around that want to share and learn with us.
    We are trying to grow more edibles for us and get the farm tidy and organized. We are also trying to build a greenhouse for several crops and medicinal herbs.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our farm is run by my father Osvaldo and Juanita, an older couple that has spent most of their life either teaching, farming or creating community efforts for food sovereignty, farming rights and much more. They have a very interesting and integral historical perspective on how organic farming and agroecology have shifted and changed in the past decades. Juanita's food is amazing, Osvaldo's stories are incredible!
    Being around them is an honest and real heart to heart experience in a very humble and warm environment. By staying with us you'll get hands-on practice and learn how a small scale organic farm is run, how our systems are integrated, how we solve day-to-day situations, what we do with our produce and so on.
    In addition to that you'll be able to experience farming in a very small local town in Limón, Costa Rica while travelling to rivers and experiencing nature at it's best. Guacimo, where the farm is located, offers a new and interesting local tourism experience called La Ruta del Agua, which takes you around several communities close to and involved with rivers and water protection.
    The finca is different because we really believe this is a home away from home and we want chill/warm people to come stay with us.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have both inside and outside tasks.
    OUTSIDE: If you help outside there are many things that need to be done around such as milking, feeding and providing care for the goats, collecting eggs layed by our chickens, composting and helping around the small greenhouse area, cleaning, picking up, organizing our tools and much more. We also need help picking up fruit, washing it and chopping it to make jams or freezing them for juice pulp. As for gardening and farming we need tons of hands to make new planting beds, mandalas and new vegetable gardens around several spots in the farm. You could also help with a handy machete, cutting weeds and grass, harvesting pepper, planting trees, cleaning patches of overgrown planting areas, weeding and so on.

    INSIDE: Sometimes the rain makes it impossible to be outside! But don't worry, there's plenty to do inside as well. You can always clean harvested seeds, help around the house, help us organice our pantry, learn how to make cheese and much more. A helping hand is always welcome with cleaning and cooking. ;)
    Detailed information is given to you before and after you arrive. We hope you have a WARM and KIND attitude, that you enjoy working in the tropics -which implies heat, bugs and humidity- and that you're able to get up early and help us for 4 to 5 hours. If you're a bit of a sleepy head you can start a bit later, always for at least 4 hours.

    We like sturdy, strong, hard-working and motivated people who like to learn new things about gardening, farming and so on. Farming can be challenging so we invite you to be open minded to this and give you and us, the best effort with physical related activities!
    If you are creative and think of ways to make our farm better (making signs, working on macrame, etc.) your ideas are WELCOME!
    We also invite people who have previous knowledge and experience with any of the activities we mentioned! We need experienced volunteers as well for specific projects like natural building, photography, design, etc.

    *Please ask about specific projects that we need to carry out or finish!*

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Fluido
    Inglés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We like to talk and share stories so let us know how you say things in your language! Osvaldo and Juanita run the farm and speak no English so your Spanish will get a lot better no matter what.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two rooms inside the main house for volunteers. You are also welcome to camp outside if you let us know in advance and we can accomodate you properly. Both rooms have an individual bathroom, they are comfy, clean, spacious and the beds are great!
    We provide two meals per day, we ask that you bring your own personal snacks in case they like to nibble on something between helping hours. You must bring your own groceries so that you can cook yourself a third meal every day. You'll have loads of free fresh juice all day long as well. Let us know, IN ADVANCE, if you have any special food restrictions or likes!

    **It's important for you to know that we have very little access to internet and NO Wi-Fi.... you can connect on your data but it might be a bit unstable. Hour long internet connection, watching videos and so on is not a reality at our finca. :'(

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You can read, nap on a hammock, ride a bike into town, learn Spanish, go swimming and much more in your free time. We like to chill and dislike to hassle! Guacimo is a very peaceful town but it's far away from the farm, we can always give you a ride on certain days. We invite you to ask questions, get to know locals, observe how other nearby conventional farms work and how they treat their workers, and create a sense of perspective and balance while staying with us.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you have an emotional support pet you are welcome to bring it as long as it is well behaved.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 684673586264

Comentarios (4)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Share your knowledge of home renovation, permaculture, and gardening, as we start our project near Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Help take care of my baby, play with my daughter and help with daily life in San Jose, Costa Rica