1 / 3

Help us build an eco-farm food forest in St John, Virgin Islands

  • Islas Vírgenes Americanas
  • 44 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Gordon is a woodworker who designs and builds kitchens, doors, windows and furniture. Jamie was a sailing instructor and since the birth of their daughter does mostly electrical and AC work. We recently purchased a piece of land that we are working on turning into a garden forest with sustainable homes. We are in the very begining stages and welcome lots of fresh ideas and helping hands!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will show you around the island. Mostly you will be on your own to explore, hike and swim. We like to go on boat sometimes on weekends (once a month). And will include you in dinner and playing music a night or two a week. Learn(and/or teach) about gardening in the tropics, local cuisine and sustainable living.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Lots of gardening, planting trees, chipping wood. Could be help with some building projects. Right now our biggest project is putting up a fence to keep the deer, goats and donkeys from eating all our plants!

    We will bring breakfast and a packed lunch every morning and make a plan for the day. 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week is expected. Dinner's and weekends you will be on your own for food, but can help yourself to anything growing on the property of course!

    Also, anyone who would like to spend part of their time working on boat repair, we always have plenty of that! Dinghy, badly in need of some upgrades could be used with a little experience.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    You will be staying in a large tent on a platform with an outdoor composting toilet. Water is caught from the rain and a battery and solar panel will provide power. At this time we do not have wifi at the site but hope to get that soon.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    St. John is full of hiking trails, national Park and snorkeling. We are located right in Coral Bay, St. John about a ten minute walk to the bus route and the restaurants. Busses run till shortly after dark, not into the night.

    Sundays we will give you a ride to a beach and will include you in boat trips whenever possible. Anytime we can help to arrange a ride or anything else you need we are happy to try to help. We usually drive into Cruz Bay a couple times a week and you are welcome to hitch a ride.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 674787253127



Carpentry and gardening help in a melting pot of many cultures - The Caribbean, Virgin Islands (U.S.)
Caribbean family seeking a passionate educator, Virgins Islands (US)