Come and assist with 2 beautiful huskies and enjoy cultural exchange in Biggleswade, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

99 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/04/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ******Post temporarily on hold whilst moving home*****

    Hi, I'm Karen. I'm 39 years old and work for an InsureTech company in London - though I am currently working from home. Before getting dogs I was an avid traveller and loved to explore new countries, cultures and experiences. I also worked on a husky sledding farm in the Arctic Circle Northern Norway - more than happy to share info about this experience.

    I'm a certified Divemaster and I also like to play Netball to keep fit.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have been an avid traveller for many years and have travelled to approx 45 countries - happy to share my tips of different destinations. Also happy to help with English if it is not your first language.
    You will learn an incredible amount about dogs from some of the professionals that I am trying to get time with.

    In addition, I am a certified professional Divemaster, so any budding scuba divers out there, I can also share knowledge and tips.

    I'm also very sociable and like a glass of vino or beer now and then. So more than happy to have a social night out whenever we think it's needed.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I have recently completed my own Workaway experience by volunteering at a Husky sledding tour place in Northern Norway. Whilst I was there, I fell in love with the dogs and decided to adopt 2 of them.
    They are retired working dogs but still love to pull. They are also the most loving and friendly dogs you will ever meet - give them a cuddle and they will love you for life.

    I am looking for some help with the dogs (Adi & Storm) to help train them becoming a little more domesticated. They have been yard dogs their whole lives - living outdoors (which they love) and taking customers on sledding tours. I like them to come indoors whenever they want, but sometimes they are muddy or wet and need a little wiping down, as does the floors afterwards. Going for walks is where I need the most help. I want to train them to not pull whilst they are on a leash - but I cannot do it alone. It takes a lot of time, patience and consistency to get them to a place where I can take them for a walk rather than them taking me for a walk. So your help is most valuable here.
    2x walks a day on week days, training on the leash
    A little help to clean down the conservatory or living room after they have been indoors (floors mainly).

    Ideally you will have previous experience working with animals, preferably dogs and if you have any dog behavioural or training experience, then this would be considered above anything else. Being reasonably strong is also a slight advantage, although not necessary - as long as you have patience and can dedicate time to training, that's the most important thing.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have a 3 bedroom detached house in a town in Bedfordshire and it is just myself and the dogs that live here. It's beautiful here, many places for walks, hikes, bike rides and even swimming in the lakes.
    I have a conservatory which is lovely during the summer, and a garden & outdoor shed that can be used as a gym.

    You would have your own double room (currently a single bed but plan to put a double in). And a shared bathroom. There is a TV in the room.

    I love to cook for other people, way more interesting than just myself so would be happy to provide some food or if you prefer, you can cook your own food (and for me if you wanted :)). I can provide a weekly food budget for you. Vegetarians welcome (I am 95% meat free). Basically I am pretty easy going about this arrangement, we can discuss it in more detail when we meet.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    My place is a 15min walk to the train station where you can catch a train into central London (Kings Cross St Pancras station) within 35mins. There are lots of trains throughout the day. So London is pretty much on your doorstep.
    There are nice pubs and cafes in town, pretty much everything you would need.

    I have access to a car and happy to take you into town (although it is walkable) or to the station if required.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 days a week. 4 hours a day.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 665111485186