Stay and play at our Farm! Nelson, BC near the Kootenay River

Country

Canadá

75 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    201

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We provide free range eggs locally and are located at the base of the Selkirk Mountains 25 km east of Nelson, BC near the Kootenay River. We live on 8.5 acres along Mill Creek which runs through our property. Our community of Harrop/Procter can be described as a hamlet accessible by a free cable ferry that operates 24/7. This ferry takes approximately 5 min to cross the Kootenay River. Our busy season is from April to September during which time we manage two flocks of layer hens. We also use this time to prepare for the gardening and planting season and provide area residents with custom composted and bagged manure. This is also the time that we require the most assistance as firewood needs to be harvested, split and stacked, gardens need to be tilled and seeded as well as the day to day operation of the farm. Generally the mornings are our busy time and the afternoons can be spent enjoying all the wonderful, natural beauty of our area. We are very close to beaches and hiking/biking trails. You will enjoy swimming, canoeing, exploring and wildlife. We are located between Nelson and Kaslo where you will find lots to do. We have WIFI and your own private room in our home. We love our life here, love to enjoy nutritious and healthy meals and hang out with our farm dogs and cats.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn some of the old school ways involved in or with farm life. You will gain hands on experience with livestock husbandry, equipment maintenance and servicing and many other skills that are required to maintain and keep a small farm efficient and operational. We often face many challenges and have to be quick witted and think on our feet. A sense of humour goes a long way on the farm.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Collecting, washing and packaging eggs/general farm duties/assisting with farm maintenance tasks such as servicing creek fed water system/barn cleaning/yard maintenance/planting and weeding gardens/harvesting, bucking and splitting firewood/ delivering eggs/tending to farm dogs, cats. We always appreciate help around the house and kitchen. Sharing favourite recipes is always fun!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be provided with a private room, shared bathroom and internet. Laundry facilities and most meals are provided.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are heading into our busy season and are looking for help with preparing our barn to receive young hens. We will need help preparing the barn, garden work and firewood harvesting. Transportation is not an issue as we have regular bus service to Nelson from the Harrop ferry landing. We also make frequent trips to town. Our local surroundings offer many adventures hiking/biking/swimming and exploring. We live in a warm, caring community.
    We live in a smoke free home and enjoy a quite lifestyle. We expect our visitors to enjoy all our area has to offer in a respectful manner.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 658694819345